Screenings: The Mockingjay Lives and The Book of Negroes Miniseries

Hello Humans,

The Book of Negroes

On Tuesday, I went with my pal Michele to the premiere of The Book of Negroes miniseries based on the book of the same name by Lawrence Hill over at the TIFF Bell Lightbox. It was a lot of fun and the stars where there which included Aunjanue Ellis, Lyriq Bent, Cuba Gooding Jr., Louis Gossett Jr., Shai Pierre-Dixon, and Allan Hawco. The miniseries looks fantastic and is set to air on CBC on January 7 at 9 p.m. I’m not sure if or when it’ll air outside of Canada but if you live in Canada, check it out! I plan on reading the book as well. If anyone has read it, what did you think? Did you enjoy it? Did you take anything from it? This is why I love books and storytelling overall. It let’s you talk about the things that hurt the most so hopefully this will be as enlightening as it is engaging.

I’ll likely do a full write up of the series after it airs over at Women Write About Comics.

The Age of Adaline

On Wednesday, I was invited to attend another screening but this time to The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 with my friend Chandra. We got there an hour early and relinquished our devices – my Kobo and cell phone – before heading in to find seats. There were previews that played before the movie which is almost nonexistent at advanced screenings. I thought Divergent was a decent movie but I don’t plan on running to the theater to see Insurgent and the teaser reaffirms that with the really bad CGI. The Age of Adaline looks interesting and stars Blake Lively. Mortdecai reminded me of why I think Johnny Depp needs to stop playing these out there characters and maybe go back to serious roles. I getting fatigued and this new movie looks like a bootleg Austin Powers.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1

Let’s talk about Mockingjay Part 1 and how everyone should rush to the theaters to see it because it’s friggin’ awesome. People call it the darkest of the films but I think all three films are dark but this film decides to just take a breath and see the repercussions of the last two films on not just Katniss but everyone else as well. Of course, that doesn’t mean action is absent. I got a nifty pin and ate nachos which sounds like a great night to me. Anyways, go see it. Love it. Talk about it. I might write a more detailed thing later.

The last seven days has been non-stop events/activities and I’m looking forward to some sleep. Have a great day and enjoy the snow because I sure as hell won’t 😦

–A. A. Omer

3 thoughts on “Screenings: The Mockingjay Lives and The Book of Negroes Miniseries

  1. I am very excited for both Book of Negores and Mockingjay. And I love that you had to give up your Kobo. They made me surrender my Kindle for Big Hero 6 as well.

Leave a Reply

