You Read What? Book Review: I Am Forever

Author: Wynne Channing

Headshot

Publisher:  Self Pubbed

Date Published:  January 7th 2014

Format: eBook/Advanced Reader’s Copy

Source: From the author for an honest review

Synopsis:

Axelia fought an army of vampires and survived. Once fated as the destroyer of the vampire race, she is now welcomed into the immortal empire and revered as a god.

But instead of relishing her victory, she faces a dangerous new world and an empire at war. Axelia is thrust into the position of supreme vampire and caught in the crossfire of battle. To make matters worse, her role alienates Lucas, the one vampire that she trusts.

Her power spawns evil enemies. And they know how to get to her — by hurting those whom she loves most.

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Kobo | Goodreads

Number of Days It Took to Read: 1

Cover:

I Am Forever - lo-res (1)

I love this cover mostly because it’s feature a girl in a dress who isn’t passively chilling on the ground or water etc. There’s power to her stance. A+

The Writing Score: 4 out of 5

Recommendation: Great Sequel and a Must Read for those who enjoy vampire stories

Memorable or Forgettable: Memorable

Rating:  4 out of 5

Review:

When I read What Kills Me, I was blown away by how good it was as a self published book ( I had just started reading them) but also the fresh take on the vampire lore that I was so bored of at the time. Today the sequel, I Am Forever, comes out and its protagonist, Axelia, is dealing with the events of the last book. Whereas the first book featured a lot  running for your life and action, most of the sequel  was stable in location but dealt with unstable matters that were heavily based on lies, politics and power. I think it was a great next step for the story and really saw growth in Axelia as a leader as well as someone who can actually wield her power rather than just wing it as we saw in the first book. My favorite thing about this series was how Channing handled the romance. It felt organic and infused real issues that people in a blossoming relationships deal with. The secondary characters introduced were great and I enjoyed the dynamics between them and Axelia.

It was great that Axelia’s family was always on her mind rather than just pushed aside as I’ve seen a lot of protagonists in Young Adult literature do. The dialogue was witty and the humor was spot on. One of Channing’s strength lies in her description which is so vivid that I can actually imagine everything in my mind’s eye. My hope for the next book is that there will be more conflict thrown into the romantic relationships so that we can watch it grow in the same way the individual characters do. A kind of synchronizing of dance steps that comes with a young relationship that hopes to turn into something long term. I’d love to see familial relationships flushed out and explored more. This book has done a bit of that already. I’m excited for more of the description and I know that book three still has plenty of story to tell that ties into the bread crumbs left in this one. I really suggest this series to those who are tired of the vampire stories but also to those who want to enjoy a fun ride.

P.S.

I absolutely adore Lucas.

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

One thought on “You Read What? Book Review: I Am Forever

  1. Thanks Ardo!!! Lots of breadcrumbs to follow in Book 3: Zee’s terrifying nightmares, those creepy red eyes, the Queen’s memory of Abisare, Zee’s blood donation to the rebels, that rebel with the twisted smile and slicked back hair (where did he go?)… Stay tuned!!!

Leave a Reply

