Top Ten Tuesday: Goals/Resolutions For 2014

Top Ten Tuesday

I’ve joined in on the fun of Top Ten Tuesday, a feature hosted by The Broke and Bookish, and today’s top ten revolves around goals/resolutions for 2014. 2013 was a great year but 2014 can be a whole lot better. These are my top ten bookish and blogging related goals/resolutions for the new year.

10. Check Out Other Bookish Blogs More Often

I’m terrible at this. I mostly check out blogs if they’ve tweeted a link on Twitter. I do retweet and make the links known but this year, I’ll try to comment more and visit blogs more. I also want to discover new blogs so there will be some creeping involved this year as well. 🙂

9. Read More Adult Novels 

This was a resolution for 2o13 and I did read more adult novels than I did in 2012 but I do feel that I can read more. Adult books have been kicking ass in terms of the books I read last year and the new adult books coming out have me really excited.

8. Get Involved With (Or Create) More Features

There were weeks and even months that have gone by where I didn’t post either because I was exhausted or just too busy. I think features will work great as prompts to keep me posting a lot more regularly and less is always more. Last thing I want to do is get buried in features. What kinds? No clue. Guess that’s what 2014 is all about, right? I guess participating in Top Ten Tuesday is the first step!

7. Read More Graphic Novels

This year has truly opened my eyes to the original graphic novel and I want to read more. One of my most anticipated reads this year is The Undertaking of Lily Chen from First Second and there are more graphic novels that I’m itching to get my hands on.

6. Write More Discussion Based Posts

There were two things I did on this blog: reviews and discussion posts. I’ve let the discussion posts slide this year and I hope to get back into them. They’re great because people who normally don’t hear about book industry stuff can weigh in on issues in the biz today as well as within the pages of the books they read. What’s the point of art if we can’t use it to criticize the world around us?

5. Read More Non-Fiction

I’m a fiction girl. Period. So it’s rare for me to read and get into a non-fiction book. I recently bought Romeo Dallaire’s Shake Hands with The Devil (read a few chapters in high school and loved it. REUNITED) and I devoured Night by Elie Wiesel which was masterful. I don’t expect to read 100 or even 10 but I do wish to read at least one this year that’ll really hook itself to me.

UPDATE: NIGHT is a trilogy apparently which means there are two more books. Dudes. This resolution may just be a done deal 🙂

4. Read More Classics

I read The Island of Dr. Moreau during the winter break and thought it was ok BUT it did awaken this need to read the classics. I have plenty on my shelf that I have yet to read so I look forward to making this a goal for 2014!

3. Strive to Showcase Diversity

This basically means that I want to do things on the blog that’ll bring diversity to the forefront whether through authors or their works. I want to do something for Black History Month (February) as well as other things. Maybe this can feed into my features resolution?

2. Read More Books by Canadian Writers

I’ve read great books this year by Canadian authors and Canadian writers have been kick ass in 2013 so why not read more from my fellow countrymen? Canada Reads is coming up so I’ll be getting my Canadian fix from there and CBC Books had a great list for Canadian books to watch out for in 2014 that I hope to check out as well.

1. Relax

I tend to forget that this whole blogging thing is a hobby and feel terrible when regular life or book slumps get in the way. After doing this for roughly a year and a half, I’ve realized that I’m not the young blogger who had everything to prove anymore. I can read and write reviews but also take a break and do things. So my goal is to breathe more and have fun.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Goals/Resolutions For 2014

  1. I also want to read more adult books this year. Usually I’m pretty balanced by in 2013 YA took over. I love CanLit so I’m hoping to read more of that in particular

Leave a Reply

