Top 5 Books of 2013

It has been a great year of books and I’m counting down the top 5 in 5 different categories from the list of books I’ve read this year leading up to my most anticipated reads of 2014 on New Year’s Day.

5. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

The Dream Thieves

I loved this book. It focused on a different Raven Boy that we didn’t get to know as much in the last book and the pacing/writing was consistently awesome with the last book as well. I was afraid that it would ruin the momentum of the first book because the first book felt like it could stand on its on rather than have three additional books following after it. I do think Stiefvater has a plan and I really want to continue to be on the hunt for Glendower with the gang.

4. The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (aka J. K. Rowling)

jk-rowling-the-cuckoos-calling

It was a surprise for everyone to hear that J.K. Rowling secretly wrote and published a mystery novel. This was my first post-Harry Potter I’ve read from her and it shows readers that you can’t keep this kick ass writer in a box. It’s a fresh take on the mystery with characters you want to get to know. Definitely one of the best books I’ve read all year.

3. Game by Barry Lyga

Game

Me: “Hey. Don’t leave just yet. I’m almost done this book and I’m too scared to be alone.”

Brother: “You’re so weird. It’s a book. If it scares you, close it.”

Some people just don’t the power of words. Barry Lyga knows the power of words and wrote the most scary sequel in his I Hunt Killers series. He’s so powerful that he got this scared reader excited for Book 3.

2. Mother, Mother by Koren Zailckas 

mother mother

Zailckas knows how to write. She wrote this book in two perspectives – both from Violet and her 10 year old brother – to tell the story of a monster of a mother. I’d be mad for not having this on my list.

1. Vicious by V.E. Schwab/Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

viciousfangirl

Is it a cop out to have 2 books as your #1  thus making it a top 6? No. I tried guys but both of these books kicked butt in 2 completely different ways. One is Adult. One is Young Adult. One is about the super powered and the murky grey between good and evil. The other is about a young woman who’s a freshman in college trying to figure out her place as a writer, sister, daughter and individual. One was about my love about all things superheroes/villains and the other was basically who I was and still kind of am while in University. It helps that they’re both magnificent writers and I hope to read more of their stuff.

Those are my Top 5 reads. What are yours?

A. A. Omer

One thought on “Top 5 Books of 2013

Leave a Reply

