Top 5 Eye Catching Covers of 2013

It has been a great year of books and I’m counting down the top 5 in 5 different categories from the list of books I’ve read this year leading up to my most anticipated reads of 2014 on New Year’s Day.

5. Outcast

outcast

This was a great example of having the cover decide whether or not you’ll read a book and even more so when it’s an ebook. I don’t like ebooks and I try to avoid reading online as much as I can so when I say that this cover was the main reason I purchased this book, that’s a big deal. Great job on making the 5th spot on the list!

4. The Brokenhearted

brokenhearted

 

Described as Cinder meets The Dark Knight, this cover had sold this Batman fan into picking it up. The font, the black/pink coloring and the metal heart illuminating the page. Thumbs up to our 4th cover on the list.

3. Linked

linked

Whenever a book has real people on the cover it tends to look like an editorial spread that you find in magazines. 90% of the time, I don’t pick up those books. This cover made it to the list because of the great use of effect that separates it from the magazine covers.

2. Unravel Me

Unravel Me

Shatter Me won last year for the best cover of the year and Unravel Me almost did the same. These covers look gorgeous and after seeing the third and final book, Ignite Me, I’d me surprised if it didn’t make next year’s list. GORGEOUS.

1. Vicious

vicious

 

Victo Ngai’s illustration for V.E. Schwab’s Vicious is spectacular and stunning just like the story. I honestly have nothing else to say so I think I’ll let it speak for itself.

What was your eye catching cover of 2013?

A. A. Omer

Leave a Reply

