Things I’ve Seen And Wrote

Hello All,

I wrote a review for Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox over at Paper Droids in case the geeks who read this blog are interested. If you don’t see yourself as a “geek” and still want to read it, go ahead! We are all one people. You can find it here.

Also, I thought I’d bring your attention to this post by Sue over at DC Women Kicking Ass on a controversy that ocured over at Boston Comic Con. The “Superheroes: the Never-Ending Battle” panel answered questions on the representation of women and people of color that were a bit unsettling. Give it a read. It’s really interesting and it can be applied to books as well (the idea of having more positive female representations as well as people of color).

Lastly, there’s an EW article discussing the book-to-movie changes in the second Hunger Games film, Catching Fire, where giving Peeta the ability to swim is described as “we manned him up a little”. I wasn’t aware that swimming or not being able to swimming determined manhood. The issue isn’t with the act of giving him the ablity to swim but with the reason for why they did it. Poor choice of words folks. Here’s the article in it’s context.

Also, I’ve written some posts on various discussions on my tumblr if you want to check that out as well.

This is essentially self promotion and I feel like since I don’t self promote myself ALL THE TIME then it’s okay. Also, if you like what’s on the blog  then it’s not a huge stretch for me to direct your attention to similar things that I have written or have seen.

Ciao my fellow books fiends,

A. A. Omer

Leave a Reply

