You Read What? Book Review: The Girl Who Was Supposed to Die

Author: April Henry

Publisher: Macmillan

  • Imprint: Henry Holt and Co.

Date Published:  June 11th 2013

Format: ARC (Advance Reader’s Copy).  eBook.

Source: From the publisher for honest review via Netgalley

Synopsis:

“Take her out back and finish her off.”

She doesn’t know who she is. She doesn’t know where she is, or why. All she knows when she comes to in a ransacked cabin is that there are two men arguing over whether or not to kill her.

And that she must run.

In her riveting style, April Henry crafts a nail-biting thriller involving murder, identity theft, and biological warfare. Follow Cady and Ty (her accidental savior turned companion), as they race against the clock to stay alive.

-Taken from Goodreads.com

Number of Days It Took to Read: 4

Cover: 

the girl who was supposed to die

This cover definitely got me to pick this book up (or to request it online).

The Writing Score: 3 out of 5

Recommendation: Casual Perusal

Memorable or Forgettable: Forgettable

Rating:  3.5 out of 5

Review:

This was one of those books that really hooked me in the first 2/3 but then the last stretch felt rushed in terms of plot development as well as pacing. Funny enough, I felt like this could have been a two book series or just a much longer stand alone. The book is only 224 pages which is a bit short given that most of the books I read are roughly 350 pages long on average. Who knows? Maybe this is a series but that would surprise me given the way it ended. Everything felt rushed after the reveal which is sad since the lead protagonist was really getting into who she was (a kick ass) and I wanted that explored more. Speaking of characters, I don’t think the characters were as fully developed as I would have liked. The secondary characters definitely but also Ty who I wanted to know a bit more in terms of who he is versus back story.

My issue with this book is more about missed opportunity than anything else. I felt like the author held back when she could have gone so much further with the story. There wasn’t enough attention given to the fruition of the plot but the lead up was well done. I’m a bit disappointed.

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

Leave a Reply

