You Read What? Book Review: Outcast

Author: Adrienne Kress

Publisher: Diversion Books

Date Published:  June 4th 2013

Format: ARC (Advance Reader’s Copy).  eBook.

Source: From the publisher for honest review via Netgalley

Synopsis:

“With a crisp, engaging voice and sharp wit, Adrienne Kress is always a treat to read.” – Kelley Armstrong, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

After six years of “angels” coming out of the sky and taking people from her town, 16-year-old Riley Carver has just about had it living with the constant fear. When one decides to terrorize her in her own backyard, it’s the final straw. She takes her mother’s shotgun and shoots the thing. So it’s dead. Or … not? In place of the creature she shot, is a guy. A really hot guy. A really hot alive and breathing guy. Oh, and he’s totally naked.

Not sure what to do, she drags his unconscious body to the tool shed and ties him up. After all, he’s an angel and they have tricks. When he regains consciousness she’s all set to interrogate him about why the angels come to her town, and how to get back her best friend (and almost boyfriend) Chris, who was taken the year before. But it turns out the naked guy in her shed is just as confused about everything as she is.

He thinks it’s 1956.

Set in the deep south, OUTCAST is a story of love, trust, and coming of age. It’s also a story about the supernatural, a girl with a strange sense of humor who’s got wicked aim, a greaser from the 50’s, and an army of misfits coming together for one purpose: To kick some serious angel ass.

– Taken from Goodreads.com

Number of Days It Took to Read: 2

Cover: 

outcast

LOVE THIS COVER SO MUCH. It’s so gorgeous. I just…can’t…

The Writing Score: 3.5 out of 5

Recommendation: Casual Perusal

Memorable or Forgettable: Memorable

Rating:  4 out of 5

Review:

I really enjoyed this book. First off, the decision to have the story take place in a small town in the southern United States was brilliant given that it’s a story of Angels and the South is known for it’s deep religious beliefs/roots. The writing showcased the southern speech and sensibilities well but I did feel like Riley calling her mom, “Mother”, pulled me out of that a bit. One could argue that not all southerners call their mothers, “mama”, or variations of it but she does call her father, “Daddy”, which distracted me further. It would only make sense if her mother was a cold individual but she’s not. In fact, she’s quite the opposite. It’s a minor detail but it was one that was very noticeable as I read it.

I enjoyed Riley as a character and was so happy when Kress decided to make her protagonist a busty/curvy girl with insecurities of how her body looks. Whenever I read books, the character is always described as thin or with barely there curves who’s self conscious or a curvy girl with enough confidence to float a hot air balloon. As a curvy girl myself, I was NOT confident with my body (and I’m still not) and had the same thoughts as Riley did in one particular scene. This pleased me immensely. I also liked Riley as a strong female character who was mostly active rather than passive throughout. Her relationship with Gabe progressed wonderfully and, man, is he a hottie (or a hunk which seems to be more appropriate for this story)  *fans self*. Kress’ use of the 50s slang when writing Gabe was awesome. I was really happy with the incorporation of black characters (although I’d like to see more of them) and discussing the sensitive issue of African-Americans in relation to the south which wasn’t preachy or too heavy yet treated seriously. It was a small mention but it did the job. Kress seems to have a knack at creating lovable characters. I adore two in particular: Father Peter (reminds me of Rory from Doctor Who) and another character who I can’t name since it’s related to the plot and can be considered spoiler-y.

This book was funny and the pacing was great for the majority of it. I did find the last quarter to be a bit rushed and would much rather have it in a slower pace. Overall, it’s a fun and enjoyable read that’s perfect for the summer. 🙂

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

3 thoughts on “You Read What? Book Review: Outcast

  1. I love the cover of this one too, I love Adrienne’s writing and I can’t wait to read this! I’m glad she made her MC so realistic, I like reading about characters that still have insecurities. And an added bonus that there is a character that reminds you of Rory.. I definitely need this now!

Leave a Reply

