[New in Review] The Gyspy King

Author: Maureen Fergus

Publisher: Penguin Books

  • Imprint: RazOrbill Canada

Date Published:  January 22nd 2013

Format: Hardcover

Source: Received from the publisher

Synopsis:

A runaway slave with a shadowy past, sixteen-year-old Persephone has spent four long years toiling beneath the leering gaze of her despised owner and dreaming of a life where she is free to shape her own destiny. Then, one night, a chance encounter with a handsome chicken thief named Azriel changes her life forever.

Sold to him for a small bag of gold coins, Persephone soon discovers what she already suspected: namely, that Azriel is not what he seems. And when she realizes that he believes Persephone has a special destiny—she is determined to escape him and his impossibly broad shoulders.

But things are no longer as simple as they once were. Torn between her longing for freedom and her undeniable feelings for the handsome thief with the fast hands and the slow smile, Persephone faces the hardest choice she will ever have to make. And no one least of all her—could have imagined the shocking truth her decision will reveal.

Number of Days It Took to Read: 3

Cover:

While I will admit that it is a nice looking cover especially with the castle in the background, the image of the girl on the cover for some reason does not look it it belongs with the background.

gypsy king

The Writing Score: 3 out of 5

Recommendation: Casual Perusal

Memorable or Forgettable: Forgettable

Rating:  3 out of 5

Review:

To be honest the synopsis didn’t make it seem like a book that I would have liked, but after talking to a few other bloggers who loved it I decided to give it a shot. The plot was interesting enough and the story was very thrilling and fast paced which made it a quick read. I also loved how the dark moments in the book were balanced with lighter moments in other parts of the story. Speaking of light moments, I LOVED the animals in the book though they did not exactly talk they were fiercely loyal to Persephone the heroine. They way they treated Azriel especially at the beginning provided a much needed humour break from the darker plotlines.

I actually liked Persephone as a protagonist. She was pretty strong and feisty and I was glad to see a heroine that was not perfect. It is nice to read a book where the heroine is not afraid to be selfish and put her own agenda first, while doing whatever it took to reach her goal. Still some of her actions left me feeling frustrated at times because she often did things without thinking them through. I was not completely sold on Azriel as a love interest although that may be in part due to the fact that I know who his character is based on. I felt like his character was always trying too hard and I did not really buy into his relationship with Persephone as it felt like the two of them were suddenly rushed into a romantic relationship near the end. However as this is only the first book in the trilogy, I have a feeling that their relationship will become more fleshed out in the later books. Finally though the main antagonist in the book, Regent Mordecai was portrayed in a very stereotypical almost cartoonish manner i.e. his gruesome physical appearance I think Fergus really succeeds in making him a despicable villain. I truly hated him, and his beliefs and actions only made me despise him more which I think is a good sign for villains in stories that contain a fantasy element.

Taken as a whole The Gypsy King was a good, quick read that was written in an easy to read manner that flowed quite well. The ending of this book left me curious to read the next one and luckily I have and advance reader copy of the next book which I have been told is way better but has an even bigger cliffhanger ending. Anyways I would recommend this book to those who like historical young adult fiction with a fantasy element.

– Linh

The opinions expressed in this review are my own; I did not receive any compensation in exchange for this review. I am currently accepting young adult fiction and adult fiction books that have a crossover appeal to young adults for review. If you have any questions or would like for me to review your book feel free to email me at lxlnguyen21@yahoo.ca.

 

4 thoughts on “[New in Review] The Gyspy King

  1. I hate the same complaint about the villain. He fell a little flat for me. But other than that I really enjoyed this book. I also seem to be the only one who likes the cover – I think it’s because it reminds me of books I read when I was younger.

    1. Yeah I’m hoping the villain gets more development in A Fools’ Errand. And yeah many people seem to have issues with the cover though I didn’t really dislike it that much, anyways that’s interesting that this cover reminds you of the books you read when younger. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

