You Read What? Book Review: Dare To You

Author: Katie McGarry

Publisher: Harlequin

  • Imprint: Harlequin Teen

Date Published:  May 28th 2013

Format: ARC (Advance Reader’s Copy). Paperback.

Source: From the publisher for review

Synopsis:

Ryan lowers his lips to my ear. “Dance with me, Beth.”

“No.” I whisper the reply. I hate him and I hate myself for wanting him to touch me again….

“I dare you…”

If anyone knew the truth about Beth Risk’s home life, they’d send her mother to jail and seventeen-year-old Beth who knows where. So she protects her mom at all costs. Until the day her uncle swoops in and forces Beth to choose between her mom’s freedom and her own happiness. That’s how Beth finds herself living with an aunt who doesn’t want her and going to a school that doesn’t understand her. At all. Except for the one guy who shouldn’t get her, but does….

Ryan Stone is the town golden boy, a popular baseball star jock-with secrets he can’t tell anyone. Not even the friends he shares everything with, including the constant dares to do crazy things. The craziest? Asking out the Skater girl who couldn’t be less interested in him.

But what begins as a dare becomes an intense attraction neither Ryan nor Beth expected. Suddenly, the boy with the flawless image risks his dreams-and his life-for the girl he loves, and the girl who won’t let anyone get too close is daring herself to want it all….

Number of Days It Took to Read: 10

Cover: 

dare you to

It’s a cover I expect a book about romance to have. Doesn’t stand out to me.

The Writing Score: 3 out of 5

Recommendation: Casual Perusal

Memorable or Forgettable: Forgettable

Rating:  2 out of 5

Review:

I was really disappointed.

I read Pushing the Limit which is the second book in the series but not really. Beth was a character in Pushing the Limits as a secondary character and is now the main protagonist in this one (kind of like a spin-off). I really enjoyed Pushing the Limits but thought Dare You To was terrible which has me wondering if I’ve just grown as a reader in the last few months or the writing has changed. Pushing the Limit wasn’t a literary masterpiece or anything but the story was really interesting. Dare You To…not so much.

Dare You To feels like it’s been written in a week and nothing beyond checking for spelling and grammatical errors had occurred. A whole range of things annoyed me. Beth’s observation of a school lend to the comparison of Deliverance to it BUT it happened twice. The first time had impact (I chuckled) but the second time made it seem tired out. This entire book was drenched in telling and barely any showing. This is told in first person POV of both Beth and Ryan. So many ideas regarding their feelings about the world around them and of each other was very repetitive. The constant, “I can’t be with you cause I’m the bad girl *runs* *catches me* Okay, I believe you love me *five seconds later* I’m not worth it *runs* *catches me* Ok, THIS time I believe you love me”, made me want to flip a desk in frustration. After awhile it was annoying. I kind of understand why Beth constantly goes back to her mother because she’s family but there were times where I wanted to shake her and scream, “DO YOU NOT HAVE EYES??? AM I THE ONLY ONE WHO SEES THE ISSUE WITH THIS??”.

Basically, this was the poster child for romance stories but with angsty teens. A Nicholas Sparks book with angsty teenagers.

P.S.

For the life of me, I keep mentally referring to Dare You To as Dare To You. This annoys me internally.

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

2 thoughts on “You Read What? Book Review: Dare To You

  1. After hearing so many rave reviews about PUSHING THE LIMIT I was interested in checking it out, and I thought I’d take a look at this one too. I have a copy of this but I’m kind of nervous now. I’m glad to know that this is more of a spin-off than a sequel though, I will still maybe read it… *thinks about it* Thanks for the honest review!

  2. I enjoyed reading your review. Pushing The Limits had more character depth, IMO. I am always annoyed with the “I can’t be with you because I’m a bad girl” (same for guys). I understand all your arguments, but somehow McGarry knows which buttons to push with me 🙂 Far from perfect, yet I couldn’t resist it.

Leave a Reply

