Superheroes and Movies

I feel like the last couple of years have either been book adaptations or superhero driven in regards to movies. Some have been amazing (The Dark Knight, The Avengers), some have been okay (Green Lantern) and some have been not too great (Daredevil). Personally, my favourite superhero movie(s) has been Christopher Nolan’s Batman movies (excluding the Dark Knight Rises). I’d love to list all of the movies of the past but, seeing as this is the last day of Superhero Week, I thought I’d focus on this year’s upcoming flicks.

  • Iron Man 3 (May 3rd)

It opens today and I’ll be seeing it tomorrow! I’m very excited for this film more than usual because the Marvel movies always seem to link to one another the way they did when setting up The Avengers film. In Iron Man 3, I’ve heard murmurs that it’ll somehow link itself to the new Guardians of the Galaxy film set to come out 2014. I’m interested to find out the Guardians’ role in the second Avengers film.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-EMbeIHlpReE/UTfYQ0ONx0I/AAAAAAAAAMs/PLR7U47pppc/s1600/iron_man_3_new_poster+(2).jpg

  • Man of Steel (June 14th)

I joke with my brother who’s a huge Superman fan that if Batman were to go up against Superman in terms of movies? Batman would win hands down. After the flop that was 2006’s Superman Returns, Man of Steel will be another attempt at making a good Superman film. So far? I’m digging it. The movie seems to be taking a bit of a darker tone with the character which is all fine and good but I really hope it maintains the optimistic, fantastical, moralistic aspects of Superman that makes the character who he is. I don’t want another Batman Begins. I just want a really great Superman movie that would make me want to run around my house with a blanket as a makeshift cape. anyways, let’s hope it’s good.

https://i0.wp.com/manofsteel.warnerbros.com/downloads/mos_poster2.jpg

  • The Wolverine (July 26th)

It’s Hugh Jackman coming back as Wolverine. Need I say more? Ok, I actually do because this movie doesn’t happen after the events of X-Men origins: Wolverine. It happens after the 3rd X-Men movie: The Last Stand.

https://i0.wp.com/comicbook.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/the-wolverine-poster.jpg

  • Kick Ass 2 (August 16th)

This is probably the only superhero film that isn’t based on a character in a comic book. I highly recommend watching the first one. It’s a comedy but there’s surprisingly a lot of serious moments too. The movie both respects and makes fun of the superhero genre. I’m excited for this one and I love ChloΓ« Moretz in this.

https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/5/56/Kick-Ass2-Poster.jpg/220px-Kick-Ass2-Poster.jpg

UPDATE: Kick Ass WAS adapted from a comic book. Thank you, Christa for clearing that up. I knew things were too good to be true when I wasn’t corrected at least once during this week πŸ™‚

  • Thor: The Dark World (November 8th)

Many people loved the first one but I thought it was okay. I felt it was too short but hopefully this sequel will be better. I’m excited for this one because Christopher Eccleston (my 9th Doctor from Doctor Who) will be in it.

And that’s all of the superhero movies to come this year. What are you excited for?

A. A. Omer

3 thoughts on “Superheroes and Movies

Leave a Reply

