SUPER BOOK FEATURE DAY 5 – MARY JANE 1 & 2

mary jane 1Mary Jane 2

 

This book’s audience is probably the youngest out of the entire week’s worth of books that were showcased. I’d say around late middle school to early teens. I called Dull Boy the first superhero fiction I read whenI was getting back into it in my first year of University but my first superhero fiction EVER was Mary Jane by Judith O’Brien.

You thought that I’d have a DC hero featured and nothing on Marvel? Pfft.

I read the first Mary Jane book in Grade 8 and the second a few weeks ago. I absolutely loved it then and reading it again reminded me why. This isn’t your traditional superhero story where it’s all about the hero. In this story, it’s about Mary Jane and her struggles whether it’s with divorce, what you want in regards to your future, body image, fitting in, what it means to be a good friend, love, and so on. You do see Peter Parker in this as well as Spider-Man but through MJ’s eyes. What I enjoyed most about it is that it makes the extraordinary of knowing a superhero (without knowing that you know) and making it seem so ordinary without losing that magical stuff that goes along with it. I know a lot of people who are Team Gwen fans and “hate” Mary Jane but this book really does give you a side of her that you’ll like (and at times you want to scream at her but that’s ok. No one’s perfect).

I’m really happy to end Superhero Week 2013 with the first superhero novel that I’ve read.

A. A. Omer

2 thoughts on “SUPER BOOK FEATURE DAY 5 – MARY JANE 1 & 2

  1. I’m kind of obsessed with Mary Jane, and the Spider-Man Loves Mary Jane comics were the first ones that I actually loved. Have you read them? They are THE BEST. SO FUN.

    I have both of these books on my shelf and I’ve been dying to get to them…thanks for reminding me. =P

Leave a Reply

