INFINITE JEST DAY 3

There’s no Day 2 because I had things to do for Superhero Week 2013 that made it too late for me to read. I did read today. Not much since it’s evening and I’m tired. I went to a book related event which let’s me off the hook. Anyways, back to the book.

I’m finding it really interesting. I was actually going to finish off the “chapter” (there really isn’t any chapters but different years dividing the text in a very chapters way) but I was super tired and wanted to sleep. So yes, I’m still on the Year of Glad which would be the equivalent to Chapter 1. I picked out some words to define. One of them I’ve already heard and understand when used in context but it’s always nice to look up the definition so you know how it’s defined (*). Some I’ve never seen in my life.

*Candor.

Definition: [noun] 1. the state or quality of being frank, open, and sincere in speech or expression; candidness: The candor of the speech impressed the audience. 2. freedom from bias; fairness; impartiality: to consider an issue with candor.

Monograph.

Definition: [noun] 1. a treatise on a particular subject, as a biographical study or study of the works of one artist. 2. a highly detailed and thoroughly documented study or paper written about a limited area of a subject or field of inquiry: scholarly monographs on medieval pigments. 3. an account of a single thing or class of things, as of a species of organism. Pretty sure it was number 2 in regards to the book. 

Lapidary.

Definition: [noun] 3. the art of cutting, polishing, and engraving precious stones. 4. an old book on the lore of gems. Number 1 and 2 were definitions of Lapidist/Lapidarist which I didn’t want. 

Effete. 

Definition: [adjective] 1. lacking in wholesome vigor; degenerate; decadent: an effete, overrefined society2. exhausted of vigor or energy; worn out: an effete political force3. unable to produce; sterile.

Effeminate. 

Definition: [adjective] 1. (of a man or boy) having traits, tastes, habits, etc., traditionally considered feminine, as softness or delicacy. 2. characterized by excessive softness, delicacy, self-indulgence, etc.: effeminate luxury.

Presbyopic. 

Definition: [Noun] farsightedness due to ciliary muscle weakness and loss of elasticity in the crystalline lens.

I found the way the Deans, and even Hal, speak seems to be over exaggerated and maybe that’s what Wallace planned. They talk in ways that people would never speak and simple phrases such as “until the fat lady sings” are turned into this longer phrase that gives a type of runaround: “…without the fat woman in the Viking hat having sung…”. Also, when Hal is discussing his mom, the word is written “Moms” but then refers her as “her” and then refers her as “The Moms”. It’s weird. It’s switches back and forth between plural and singular.

My favourite line so far is the title of one of Hal’s papers: “A Man Who Begun to Suspect He Was Made of Glass?”. I found this funny because it was between a list of his other papers like, “Montague Grammar and the Semantics of Physical Modality” and “Tertiary Symbolism in Justinian Erotica”. The randomness of that one titel among the other “scholarly” ones made me laugh.

That was a good session. Till tomorrow.

Pages: 5-11

A. A. Omer

Leave a Reply

