Infinite Jest Day 1

It’s 10:11 pm and I’ve finished a different book 10 mins ago before starting Infinite Jest. I can tell you now that starting a David Foster Wallace book (or any other of his works including articles etc) when you want to pass out into a deep slumber is not a good idea apparently. I got through 4 pages before words started to blur together. D.F. Wallace’s writing requires concentration because of the way sentences are structured and the lengthly descriptions he dives into. I can say that I’m enjoying so far and that the Year of Glad makes me think of the old Glad commercials. Don’t get mad. Get Glad! Yup, those ones.

I learned a new word though. Matriculation. Definition: to enroll in a college or university as a candidate for a degree.

Nice to know. I’ve been warned into having a dictionary with me when reading this since D.F. Wallace loves using words that most of us would never use in our speech or writing.

I’m actually looking forward to that.

Alright. Off to bed.

Pages: 1-4

A. A. Omer

One thought on “Infinite Jest Day 1

Leave a Reply

