[New in Review] The Diviners by Libba Bray

Author: Libba Bray

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Date Published: September 18th 2012

Format: Hardcover

Source: Borrowed from Ardo

Synopsis:

Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City–and she is pos-i-toot-ly thrilled. New York is the city of speakeasies, shopping, and movie palaces! Soon enough, Evie is running with glamorous Ziegfield girls and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is Evie has to live with her Uncle Will, curator of The Museum of American Folklore, Superstition, and the Occult–also known as “The Museum of the Creepy Crawlies.”

When a rash of occult-based murders comes to light, Evie and her uncle are right in the thick of the investigation. And through it all, Evie has a secret: a mysterious power that could help catch the killer–if he doesn’t catch her first

Number of Days It Took to Read: 3

Cover:

divine

Though the cover didn’t attract my attention, I personally thought that this cover does a good job of reflecting the plot of the book. The backdrop of the city matches the setting of New York while the creepy eye symbol plays an important role in the story.

The Writing Score:  3.5 out of 5

Recommendation: A Must Read

Memorable or Forgettable: Memorable

Rating:  3.5 out of 5

Review:

When I first heard about this book I was super excited to pick it up. I have always loved a good mystery and recently I’ve been into stories that take place during the 1920s so this book sounded just pos-i-turte-ly perfect.

For the most part I thoroughly enjoyed the various characters the Bray has created. They have such interesting back stories. For example one of my favourite characters is Memphis a boy who used to have healing powers but they disappeared when he tried to help save his dying mother. Theta also had an interesting past as the reader will learn that there is much more to her than being another showgirl. I also loved how a relationship gradually developed between the two even if I liked Theta’s platonic relationship with Henry more. Speaking of relationships I felt that the “relationship” between Evie and Jericho was a bit rushed, especially since it was not until near the end that Evie even showed any interest in Jericho. Hopefully this will be further developed or resolved in the next book.

The only other things I disliked about this book were the length of the book and main character, Evie who I found to be rather annoying and selfish. Also is it may just be me but just the idea of a seventeen year old girl going out and drinking wildly to “forget” things or numb her “headaches” was a bit unsettling. As for the length while I understand that it may have been necessary given the amount of characters in the book it felt like the book’s length just worked against it as it mostly felt like everything was being crammed into one book. Again as this is only the first book in the series I am hoping this will be improved upon in the next book.

Overall this was a creepy but quite enjoyable read. The writing is solid throughout and the descriptions really draw you into the story. I would definitely recommend this to those who love books that are a bit chilling and mysterious.

The opinions expressed in this review are my own; I did not receive any compensation in exchange for this review.

Linh

5 thoughts on “[New in Review] The Diviners by Libba Bray

  1. I actually really enjoyed this one, I didn’t really think about the length when reading it, for me it went by really quick with everything that was happening. I do understand your feelings about Evie though, she could be kind of selfish at times. I loved the mystery and how Bray slowly brought the stories together. And the mystery was awesome and creepy!

    1. Thanks for commenting! Yeah I think for me some parts were slow and others were too fast. Glad to hear that you enjoyed it though. And I agreed Bray did an excellent job of bringing all the story lines together especially near the end.

  2. Great review! I totally agree with you about Henry and Theta’s relationship being more compelling than any of the romantic relationships. I think the thing I am most excited about seeing unfold throughout the series is how their friendship evolves and changes with Memphis in the picture. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

