Inquiry To Non-Blogger Followers

Hello everyone,

Thought I’d write this quick post (in the mist of writing an essay that is only halfway done and due in 2 hrs and 15 mins today) to ask my followers who aren’t bloggers this:

DO YOU GET WHAT’S GOING ON IN MY POSTS OR DO YOU FEEL LEFT OUT OR THAT IT’S CATERED TO THOSE IN THE BOOK BIZ??

Let me give you some back story.

On Twitter, a blogger brought up that the reason blogs (in terms of book blogs at least) are mostly followed by other bloggers is because bloggers write for other bloggers through the use of jargon of the book industry which leaves non-bloggers (readers) a little confused. This tends to be done unconsciously/unintentional.

So I just wanted to know if that’s what I’m doing so I can change it.

I don’t THINK I am because I’m still relatively new to the fold so jargon binging doesn’t seem to be happening and I’m pretty sure I’ve elaborated on acronyms like ARC (advance reader’s copy).

BUT LET ME KNOW.

I don’t want readers to feel like this is some (unintentional) elitest blog that only wants other bloggers to read it (and I’m not saying I don’t want bloggers to not it read it either by the way).

I started this for readers. Period.

So please let me know in the comments section so I can change if change is required.

A. A. Omer

One thought on “Inquiry To Non-Blogger Followers

  1. I’m a blogger now, but before I was I didn’t really read book blogs. It wasn’t really because of terms, but because I didn’t understand the “culture” so to speak. I wanted to read book reviews primarily, and I didn’t understand what memes like Top Ten Tuesday were, for example, and wasn’t interested because I wasn’t participating and didn’t “know” the bloggers. Now that I blog, and participate myself, I find these types of posts more interesting.

    And I do think I’ve learned a lot about the publishing world from blogging.

Leave a Reply

