You Read What? Book Review: Prophecy

Author: Ellen Oh

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • Imprint: HarperTeen

Date Published: January 2nd 2013

Format: Hard Cover

Source: Toronto Public Library

Synopsis:

The greatest warrior in all of the Seven Kingdoms… is a girl with yellow eyes.

Kira’s the only female in the king’s army, and the prince’s bodyguard. She’s a demon slayer and an outcast, hated by nearly everyone in her home city of Hansong. And, she’s their only hope…

Murdered kings and discovered traitors point to a demon invasion, sending Kira on the run with the young prince. He may be the savior predicted in the Dragon King Prophecy, but the missing treasure of myth may be the true key. With only the guidance of the cryptic prophecy, Kira must battle demon soldiers, evil shaman, and the Demon Lord himself to find what was once lost and raise a prince into a king.

Intrigue and mystery, ancient lore and action-packed fantasy come together in this heart-stopping first book in a trilogy.

Number of Days It Took to Read: 10 days (or so)

Cover: 

Prophecy

 

I like this cover. It’s very “high-fantasy”.

The Writing Score: 2 out of 5

Recommendation: Casual Perusal

Memorable or Forgettable: Forgettable

Rating:  2 out of 5

Review:

Oh, book.

I had so much high hopes for you. The first few chapters in, I was excited. We had a strong female character who was kicking butt and the world building was starting off right. I was already protective of Kira and was in love with another character (fun fact: wasn’t a love interest).

Then things changed.

The pacing was suddenly way off and felt rushed. It was obvious that the plot of the story was too big or wasn’t handled well since there are a number of scenes that I felt could have been fused or gotten rid of all together. The “telling” after the first few chapters got insane where showing what was going on was barely happening. Characters that were introduced after the first few chapters were two dimensional and fell flat. I was so disappointed because I heard such great things and was amazed how quickly (and drastically) it went downhill for me. At some point, it became very difficult to finish and I don’t think I’ll finish the series sadly.

There were great aspects of the book. As I said, the first handful of chapters do very well in drawing in the readers and providing information. I was really happy to have a female protagonist that was strong despite all other criticisms because having one in such a position is awesome. I loved that this book is helping diversify young adult novels by having a main asian character as well as being set in an asian country/land.

Overall, was extremely disappoint with the book.

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

2 thoughts on “You Read What? Book Review: Prophecy

    1. It’s funny because I saw that my review is the opposite of what a lot of people thought about it and it’s one of those rare moments where I’m like, “YOU REALLY CAN’T SEE WHY I DON’T LIKE IT??? HOW COULD YOU LIKE IT” Lol. That’s diversity for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

