You Read What? Book Review: Shadowlands

Author: Kate Brian

Publisher: Hyperion

Date Published: January 8th 2013

Format: Hard Cover

Source: Toronto Public Library

Synopsis:

Rory Miller had one chance to fight back and she took it. Rory survived… and the serial killer who attacked her escaped. Now that the infamous Steven Nell is on the loose, Rory must enter the witness protection with her father and sister, Darcy, leaving their friends and family without so much as a goodbye.

Starting over in a new town with only each other is unimaginable for Rory and Darcy. They were inseparable as children, but now they can barely stand each other. As the sisters settle in to Juniper Landing, a picturesque vacation island, it seems like their new home may be just the fresh start they need. They fall in with a group of beautiful, carefree teens and spend their days surfing, partying on the beach, and hiking into endless sunsets. But just as they’re starting to feel safe again, one of their new friends goes missing. Is it a coincidence? Or is the nightmare beginning all over again?

Number of Days It Took to Read: 3

Cover:

Shadowlands (Shadowlands, #1)

I liked this cover. It fits with the feel of the story and it doesn’t look too editorial with the girl on the front.

The Writing Score:  3 out of 5

Recommendation: A fun read for those who enjoy suspense.

Memorable or Forgettable: Memorable

Rating:  4 out of 5

Review:

Wow.

First off, don’t read the first couple of pages when you’re alone downstairs at midnight. I was scared. Decided that going to bed was a better idea. I love Kate Brian. I read her book, Private, right before Grade 9 and it helped me freak out less about high school (a little bit even though it seemed like it should’ve done the opposite). I think I’ve read all of her books if not most and this was on my anticipated reads list of 2013.

The story starts off right away with suspense and action. It’s a scary subject matter because it’s something that could happen rather than the other worldly creatures of vampires, zombies and werewolves which we KNOW will never happen/exist (sorry guys). I could relate to Rory in some ways because I was very much like her in high school and still am. I was irritated with her dad (he got better later on) and her sister (she really pissed me off but it made some sense later on as well. Sort of). It was a fast and fun read and I’d recommend reading it on a beach or in the summer. No clue why but it gives off that type of vibe.

I gave it a 4 because I wasn’t ecstatic by the direction it took. I kind of hoped it was the type of book I expected to read (yes. I am being vague as to not spoil plot). The direction it took was interesting and lent well to the twist (which I wasn’t expecting at all. Good job) but it was…strange? Not sure but this was based more on taste than anything else.

I’m not sure how this is going to become a series since it seems better off as a stand alone but we shall see!

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

2 thoughts on “You Read What? Book Review: Shadowlands

  1. The direction this book took was definitely surprising, and the way it ended kind of left me going “Huh… what did I just read?” But I loved the creepiness of this book, especially the second perspective you get throughout, those small chapters interspersed in the story really gave me the chills. I did not like her sister at all, and that was a big let down for me, I think after everything that had happened her sister would still be a little nicer.

Leave a Reply

