You Read What? Book Review: Unravel Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • Imprint: HarperTeen

Date Published: February 5th 2013

Format: Hardcover

Source: Pre-ordered it online

Synopsis:

tick

tick

tick

tick

tick

it’s almost

time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

Number of Days It Took to Read: 2

Cover:

Unravel Me

I LOVE THIS COVER. This series went through a cover overhaul after only having one book out and I’M TOTALLY OKAY WITH THAT.  Shatter Me was featured in my 2012 best book covers. Unravel Me is just as gorgeous. Gah. I love.

The Writing Score:  4.5 out of 5

Recommendation: A MUST READ

Memorable or Forgettable: Memorable

Rating:  4 out of 5

Review:

To say that this book didn’t create buzz in the book world would be an understatement and a flat out lie.

I would have finished it in a day if it wasn’t for the midterms I had to study for (thanks to the snow day, I finished it earlier than I thought at first so yay to snow storms!). I’m really glad I did. So what’s with the 4 star rating and not the typical 5 that most people seem to be giving it?

Well let’s start with the good. Mafi’s writing was so…GORGEOUS. The prose was something that I could throw onto a blank canvas and  out pops a badass Mona Lisa (with a bag of Cheetos and an actual smile that reaches her ears). I loved that we got to see more of Kenji who’s been a favourite of mine and more insight into Omega Point along with it’s leader. It was what you expected the second book to be and it’s ending was a great lead up to the third (and final) book. It’s harder to pin down in more detail what I thought was good since most of it was that. Good. However, I still had a few…issues? They’re not too big but they stood out to me.

Warner has these monologue type instances that I felt were too much and went on for too long. If they had ended earlier, their meaning would still be as powerful and, given what we know, it would fall in line with who he is which is someone who’s efficient in every aspect of life including his speech/language. This doesn’t happen often (I think only twice) but it’s effected how far my affections for him would go which is not that far. With that said, Unravel Me changed my view of Warner way more than Destroy Me (went from you’re-a-creep to I-think-we-can-be-friends). Another issue I had was that Unravel Me was marketed as a book where Juliette was going to be a kicker of ass and would take names and basically not being who she was in Shatter Me. To me, this didn’t happen. Juliette was still scared and dependent. She’s not exactly like the girl we saw in Shatter Me because that girl was essentially catatonic emotionally (don’t blame her) but in this one she was crying…a lot. This isn’t bad because she’s grown throughout Unravel Me as we watch her make missteps at Omega Point but the change I was promised didn’t happen. I do think that promise will be fulfilled in the third book. Again, I only had issue with the marketing and not the realities of the book.

Overall, this book was great. I enjoyed it very much. The good outweighs the bad (more like the little-details-that-irked-slightly than bad) by a lot but I was able to pin point the bad easier than the good. So you should read this book and determine if my “issues” are legit or just a nit picking thing. 🙂

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

One thought on “You Read What? Book Review: Unravel Me

  1. I love Tahereh’s prose. So beautiful. I thought some of Warner’s woe is me speeches were a bit much at time too but I am definitely more interested in his character than I was before.

Leave a Reply

