New in Review: Who I Kissed

Author: Janet Gurtler

Publisher: Sourcebooks

  • Imprint: Sourcebooks Fire

Date Published: October 1stst, 2012

Format: Trade Paperback

Source: From Get Real giveaway via Facebook

Synopsis:

She Never Thought A Kiss Could Kill…

Samantha is new at school and just recently joined the swim team. She’s been flirting with one of her teammates, Zee, who invites her to a party and just as quickly dumps her for another girl. Hurt, but pretending not to care, she turns to his best friend, Alex, and gives him a kiss. And he dies—right in her arms. Alex was allergic to peanuts, and Samantha had eaten a peanut butter sandwich right before the party. She didn’t know. Overnight, Samantha turns into the school pariah and a media sensation explodes. Consumed with guilt, abandoned by her friends, and in jeopardy of losing her swimming scholarship, she will have to find the inner-strength to forgive herself for the tragedy

Number of Days It Took to Read: 1.5

Cover:

who i kissed cover

This is one of those books that you really shouldn’t judge by the cover because well you can’t. This cover does not indicate that the story is about much more than just another teen romance nor does it tell the reader what the story really is about. However I do think the cover is visually appealing which is a good thing.

The Writing Score: 3 out of 5

Recommendation: A Causal Perusal

Memorable or Forgettable: Forgettable

Rating: 3 out of 5

Review:

This is my first contemporary YA novel that I’ve read in a while and it was interesting. The plot was deep and unique as it was about peanut allergies something that I’ve never really read about before or see written about before. Still I am glad to read a YA contemporary novel where the romance took a backseat to the more serious issues in the book even if at times it felt over dramatic.

The writing at times annoyed me especially at the beginning because it did not feel authentic for a teen girl’s voice; however it did gradually improve as the story continued. Although I did find the descriptions of how Samantha felt following Alex’s death to be very realistic and believable. In addition I really enjoyed the authour’s descriptions of swimming in general, and the reader can really see from the Samantha’s point of view how much swimming meant to her.

The main character Samantha was written in a way that made me feel like I could really be friends with her if I knew her in real life. I could really emphasize with how she is feeling throughout the book because if that ever happened to me, I would feel the same. Luckily for her she has a good support network, which include her friend Taylor and her Aunt Allie. I especially loved her Aunt Allie as a character and how she was just so unconditional in her love and support of Samantha which is important for anyone going through a traumatic experience just knowing that someone is there for you can make all the difference. However there were times that I had a hard time understanding her actions as they seemed a bit extreme even for someone who is grieving. Also I was a bit put off by her father’s reaction to her situation when she came home after having someone die in front of her.

Still even though the book did not resonate with me, it was interesting and well written making it perfect for anyone looking for a quick, unique contemporary read.

– Linh

The opinions expressed in this review are my own; I did not receive any compensation in exchange for this review.

Leave a Reply

