You Read What? Book Review: Burn for Burn

Authors: Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

  • Imprint: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Date Published: September 18th 2012

Format: Hard Cover

Source: Toronto Public Library

Synopsis:

BIG GIRLS DON’T CRY…
THEY GET EVEN.

Lillia has never had any problems dealing with boys who like her. Not until this summer, when one went too far. No way will she let the same thing happen to her little sister.

Kat is tired of the rumours, the insults, the cruel jokes. It all goes back to one person– her ex-best friend– and she’s ready to make her pay.

Four years ago, Mary left Jar Island because of a boy. But she’s not the same girl anymore. And she’s ready to prove it to him.

Three very different girls who want the same thing: sweet, sweet revenge. And they won’t stop until they each had a taste.

Number of Days It Took to Read: 1

Cover:

Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn, #1)

Beautiful. I was sucked in reading this but I was just as captivated by the cover. I all I can say is, “SO PREEEETY.”

The Writing Score: 4 out of 5

Recommendation: Must Read

Memorable or Forgettable: Memorable

Rating: 4 out of 5

Review:

It’s such a rush when you’re reading a book that refuses to let go of you. After the first chapter, I was hooked on this story about revenge and the consequences that emerge from it. I really enjoyed Han and Vivian’s methods of making the readers rally behind their three female protagonists while simultaneously having them question validity of their actions and asking, “How far is too far?”.

Being an older sister myself, I connected to Lillia the most despite having vastly different backgrounds. I love Kat’s bravery of being herself regardless of what others think and Mary’s vulnerability really got to me a few times. Even the objects of their wrath have moments where our sympathy is required and guess what? We give it to them. What I loved most about this book is it’s depiction of high school fears, dramas and pressures that got wishing that I had read it in high school.

I breezed right through this book and the writing served it’s purpose to support the plot even though it wasn’t a creature of it’s own. I was a bit confused with Mary’s brow raising moments that had hit it’s peak at the end. I started to wonder if this series was starting to shift into a whole new genre which (if i’m right) would be coming from left field.

Overall, a great read for the summer or any other time you just want to lounge around and get lost in a good story.

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

One thought on “You Read What? Book Review: Burn for Burn

Leave a Reply

