You Read What? Book Reviews: Scarlet

Author: Marissa Meyer

Publisher: Macmillan

  • Imprint: Feiwel and Friends

Date Published: February 5th 2013

Format: Paperback

Source: Advance Reader’s Copy (ARC) I borrowed from the lovely Lynn.

Synopsis:

Cinder returns in the second thrilling installment of the New York Times-bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother and the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she has no choice but to trust him, though he clearly has a few dark secrets of his own.

As Scarlet and Wolf work to unravel one mystery, they find another when they cross paths with Cinder. Together, they must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen who will do anything to make Prince Kai her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Number of Days It Took to Read: 1

Cover:

Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles, #2)

The ARC didn’t really have a finished cover even though I thought that it SHOULD be the cover (very fairytale-ish). The official cover above is okay and not as eye catching as its predecessor, Cinder. The title, however, is stunning (the same one on the ARC) and shows off its fairy tale roots.

The Writing Score: 4 out of 5

Recommendation: MUST READ RIGHT NOW

Memorable or Forgettable: Memorable

Rating: 5 out of 5

Review:

I didn’t start this series until this year when everyone I knew was gushing over it for months. Knowing me, I was hesitant to read it BECAUSE everyone was hyping it up which normally results in a major disappointment for me.

This didn’t happen.

Cinder was the second book I read in 2013 and I was awestruck by it. I demanded to have Scarlet in my possession RIGHT. THIS. VERY. MINUTE. And luckily for me, my blogging partner, Lynn, had won an ARC from Indigo Teen Blog via Twitter. This past weekend, I devoured the book in one day (despite my family plotting against by distracting me with various chores). This book has not only shown to be far superior to Cinder but it raised the expectations of its readers for the next book in the series, Cress. That’s scary for an author because they have to maintain the greatness of the previous books or, in the case of Meyer, surpass it because they’ve shown us they can. The new main protagonist of this book, Scarlet, is a strong heroine of whom we can fall in love with and admire. Wolf is endearing and elicits uncertainty in the reader which only increases the tension for readers. Cinder is also in this book and we’re given a look at the vulnerability and doubt filled mind of the once confident-in-her-own-skin cyborg. Thorne is the comic relief that seems to seep into your skin and claim you as his accessory-to-laughter.

It’s not the characters that got me to notice Meyer as a writer but the way in which she weaves her story. When you notice the care in which an author takes to the plot and the connections between stories well…the last time anything like that happened was with J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series. This is what you do when you want to do a retelling. This is how you make a story regarding fairy tales we’ve all heard new again. As a reader, I enjoyed the little nuggets that hinted to the next two books and the subtle nods to the lore. I’ve became a mega fan in the span of three weeks (from today) and am dying to get my hands on Cress when it comes out.

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

2 thoughts on “You Read What? Book Reviews: Scarlet

Leave a Reply

