You Read What? Book Reviews: Between the Lines

Authors: Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

  • Imprint: Emily Bestler Books

Date Published: June 26, 2012

Format: Hard Cover

Source: Toronto Public Library

Synopsis:

What happens when happily ever after… isn’t?

Delilah is a bit of a loner who prefers spending her time in the school library with her head in a book—one book in particular. Between the Lines may be a fairy tale, but it feels real. Prince Oliver is brave, adventurous, and loving. He really speaks to Delilah.

And then one day Oliver actually speaks to her. Turns out, Oliver is more than a one-dimensional storybook prince. He’s a restless teen who feels trapped by his literary existence and hates that his entire life is predetermined. He’s sure there’s more for him out there in the real world, and Delilah might just be his key to freedom.

Delilah and Oliver work together to attempt to get Oliver out of his book, a challenging task that forces them to examine their perceptions of fate, the world, and their places in it. And as their attraction to each other grows along the way, a romance blossoms that is anything but a fairy tale.

Number of Days It Took to Read: 1

Cover:

No clue how I feel about the cover. I don’t like having the authors’ names larger than the title. Obviously, it’s to attract Jodi Picoult fans to it but I still think the title should always stand out above all.

The Writing Score: 3.5 out of 5

Recommendation: Casual Perusal

Memorable or Forgettable: Memorable

Rating: 3 out of 5

Review:

It was an okay read. I felt really bad for Delilah. Nothing goes her way at school and the things she does (accidently of course) to make herself the school pariah is hilarious and sad. Oliver was an interesting character especially when interacting with Delilah and our world. I expected a different direction for the story from the synopsis but this one was just as good. I wish there was more of Jules. Not that it wasn’t just the right amount but because I like her and just wanted to see more.

I do have issues with the structure of the novel. The story is told through the telling of the actual fairy tale, then the real story book world when the book is closed (Oliver’s perspective) and our world (Delilah’s perspective). After halfway through the book, I skipped the actual telling of the fairy tale parts of the book because, by then, I knew the story roughly through Oliver and Delilah’s POV moments indirectly. At that point, we didn’t need to have the actual fairy tale story written out since you can figure out what normally happens through inference.

Overall, the story fell a little flat for me. This is upsetting given that I love the idea of it as a reader and writer.

Also, the inside illustrations are stunning.

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

3 thoughts on “You Read What? Book Reviews: Between the Lines

  1. I am loving the book so far, it is easy to tell it is for a younger reader but it’s refreshing to read a book that’s quite the step away from her usual novels. However I noticed one inconsistency. Page 155 where Jules mentions Allie McAndrews and her broken knee cap where Delilah accidentally tripped her over and called Jules right after. Skip to page 28 Delilah says she swung a softball bat and broke Allie McAndrews knee and Jules moved to the school a week later where Delilah told her about why she was such a social pariah. Am I the only one that noticed?

    1. Huh. I didn’t notice. Nice catch. I felt like a different direction would have benefited the story or a better execution of the current story. I don’t know. It just might be me. *shrugs* 🙂

Leave a Reply

