You Read What? Book Review: Cinder

Author: Marissa Meyer

Publisher: Macmillan

  • Imprint: Feiwel & Friends

Date Published: January 3rd, 2012

Format: Advance Reader’s Copy (ARC)/Paperback

Source: Got it from a blogger at the 2nd Annual Blogger Meet Up

Synopsis:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Number of Days It Took to Read: 2

Cover:

Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, #1)

Liked the cover. Great font choice and love the see-through effect of the leg to showcase the robotic joints. Didn’t get the red shoe since the story of Cinderella involves a glass slipper (the French version of the cover IS a glass shoe…).

The Writing Score: 4 out of 5

Recommendation: Must Read

Memorable or Forgettable: Memorable

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Review:

One of the best retellings I’ve read so far.

Marissa Meyer did a fantastic job with story. You can tell that it was well thought out since she set us up for the next three books in the series. The pacing was great and I feel like this not only incorporated the elements of the original story (well beyond the Disney and Grimm Brothers version) but there was a personal twist to it as well.

Is it time now? Yes? Ok! I can now gush about Kai – I mean the characters! Cinder is a great character and was someone I rooted for just like I did for the Disney Cinderella. She has character through her restraint and if I was in her place, I would of punched someone or at least curse the hell out of them. Her stepmother is a b****. I mean it. I would have punched her out a long time ago which made me like Cinder a lot more. I enjoyed the relationship between Cinder and Peony as well as Iko who was just adorable. Most importantly, I love Kai. I want to marry him and if literary characters were real and polygamy was legal, I’d add him to the growing list. He’s kind but a strong and fair leader. Yup, I’m crushing on him. I’ve got no regrets.

Overall, this was a fantastic read and I’m dying to get my hands on Scarlet. By the way, have you seen Lynn’s Scarlet review? No? THEN GO READ IT.

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

3 thoughts on “You Read What? Book Review: Cinder

Leave a Reply

