You Read What? Book Reviews: Triangles

Author: Ellen Hopkins

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

  • Imprint: Atria Books

Date Published: October 18th, 2011

Format: Paperback

Source: Got it from Simon and Schuster at the Blogger’s Meet Up (it was in the swag bag).

Synopsis:

Three female friends face midlife crises in a no-holds-barred exploration of sex, marriage and the fragility of life.

Holly: Filled with regret for being a stay-at-home mom, she sheds sixty pounds and loses herself in the world of extramarital sex. Will it bring the fulfillment she is searching for?

Andrea: A single mom and a vowed celibate, she watches her friend Holly’s meltdown with a mixture of concern and contempt. Holly is throwing away what Andrea has spent her whole life searching for – a committed relationship with a decent guy. So what if Andrea picks up Holly’s castaway husband?

Marissa: She has more than her fair share of challenges – a gay, rebellious teenage son, a terminally ill daughter, and a husband who buries himself in his work rather than face the facts.

As one woman’s marriage unravels, another’s rekindles. As one women’s family comes apart at the seams, another’s reconfigures into something bigger and better. In this story of connections and disconnections, one woman’s up is another’s down, and all of them will learn the meaning of friendship, betrayal and forgiveness. Unflinchingly honest, emotionally powerful, surprisingly erotic, Triangles is the ultimate page-turner. Hopkins’s gorgeous, expertly honed poetic verse perfectly captures the inner lives of her characters. Sometimes it happens like that. Sometimes you just get lost. Get lost in the world of triangles, where the lives of three unforgettable women intersect, and where there are no easy answers.

Number of Days It Took to Read: 3

Cover:

Triangles

This cover has been staring at me on my shelf and I finally decided to read it when I couldn’t take it anymore. It’s stunning. It’s a gorgeous addition to my shelf and half the time I just want to stare. So yeah. I like it.

The Writing Score: 4.5 out of 5

Recommendation: Must Read

Memorable or Forgettable: Memorable

Rating: 4 out of 5

Review:

I’ve never read anything by this author and I’ve heard really great things regarding her young adult books. This is an adult book and it’s…quite the erotic read surprisingly. Hopkins writes the story in the point of view of three women (Holly, Andrea and Marissa) and in poetic verse. It’s the first time I’ve read a story in this way and I loved it (especially as a creative writing student). A lot of the poems can stand on their which can give the effect that some poems were better than others BUT the “okay” ones a very few. My personal favourite was the Triangles poem which starts and ends the novel (also provides the book its name).

Now onto the stories! I really enjoyed them and liked some (Marissa/Sometimes Holly) more than others (Andrea). I couldn’t really “connect” with the women because I’m not a wife, a mother or going through a mid-life crisis but I appreciated their stories and I felt like I could empathize, root for and sometimes flinch at the decisions being made. The writing was just as gorgeous as the cover and I honestly can’t think of anything else to say other than this was a really good read. I highly recommend it.

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

One thought on “You Read What? Book Reviews: Triangles

Leave a Reply

