My Top Five Books of 2012

These are my personal favourites that I’ve read in 2012 (in no particular order really):
5)      The End of Your Life Bookclub by Will Scwalbe
The End of Your Life Book Club

I’m usually more of a fiction reader but I could not put this memoir down. The story of Will and his mother who is dying of cancer and the book club they decide to form makes for a interesting read. If you love books and you love reading you should definitely check this book out. Check out my review:

4)      Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walters
Beautiful Ruins
This was a book that I was reluctant to start just on a recommendation after having read so many not very good book. But after much pressure from the people at HarperCollins (especially Cory) I finally decided to pick it up. And I don’t regret it one bit, at it’s heart is a beautiful love story set in a luscious setting in Italy. But it is definitely much more than that. The writing is amazing, and the characters are all well-written. This is a definite must read for everyone.
3)      The Housemaid’s Daughter by Barbara Mutch
The Housemaid's Daughter
I loved Chatelaine Magazine”s November pick for their book club because of its narrator. Ada is a character whom you cannot help rooting for because she remains so innocent despite everything that happens to her. I loved the focus on family and female relationships especially the relationship between Ada and Miss Cathleen. Overall it was a truly enlightening read about what life was like for all women during the apartheid.
2)      Love, Anthony by Lisa Genova
Love Anthony
My first book by Lisa Genova, I had no idea that she had a neuroscience background until I met her at her signing. This book is about two women who are brought together by fate and the autistic son of one of the women in the most unusual way. This book definitely opened my eyes to the challenges of having a child that has autism and it deepened my understanding of autism as a neurodevelopment disorder.
1)      Up and Down by Terry Fallis
Up and Down
Another authour that I met, this time at the Word on the Street Festival. Terry Fallis was extremely nice and approachable in person and even agreed to sign my advanced reader copy of his book. I actually got this book in my Bookstravaganza swag bag and decided to give it a try without reading any reviews or ratings of it ahead of time. Not knowing what to expect really worked in this case as I could not put this book down. This book was a very amusing look at the world of public relations, and I highly recommend it.
– Linh

4 thoughts on “My Top Five Books of 2012

    1. I’ve only read love, Anthony and I would definitely recommend it. And that’s so cool that we have similar tastes in books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

