The New Year’s Countdown: Top 5 Reads of 2012

The post you’ve been waiting for! My top reads of 2012. Who will be victorious?

5) Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

WTF? That was my reaction. The good kind and not the kind where you have no clue what’s going on. I haven’t read a lot of adult this year (sigh) but it represented its genre well. I’d love to say more but I don’t want to spoil anything!

Gone Girl

4) Drowning Instinct by Ilsa J Bick

This book really shook me. Feelings were aroused. Some sad, some lustful (for the hot teacher) but mostly satisfied because it was a really great, fulfilling and meaningful read.

Drowning Instinct

3) Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

This entire book was amazing but the ultimate cliff hanger at the end was what cemented this book in the number 3 spot. A twist to an old favourite at the very end? Tsk tsk Lauren Oliver. Now I’m anxious for Requiem that’s coming out this New Year.

Pandemonium (Delirium, #2)

2) Small Damages by Beth Kephart

Every paragraph, sentence and word was important and a story that could’ve been dull was made captivating. Werewolves, vampires, dystopian worlds are fun but sometimes it’s everyday life and everyday problems that’s the most interesting.

Small Damages

1) Blood Red Road by Moira Young

Mmm…so what makes this book my favourite…Does it have a strong female protagonist? Check. Awesome writing style that’s unique? Check. A band of female warriors? Check. Really sinister characters? Check. A hot male character for me to fawn over? Check. A joyride for all ages? Hells yeah! This book has become my favourite this year and it’s taken the spot favourite series ever for now. The Hunger Games used to own that title.

Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, #1)

That, ladies and gents, is my top five reads this year. Tomorrow I’ll post the 2013 releases I look forward to the most and, on January 1st, I’ll post my literary influenced new year’s resolutions.

A. A. Omer

2 thoughts on “The New Year’s Countdown: Top 5 Reads of 2012

  1. I LOVED Pandemonium. I definitely made my best list as well. I’m also reading Gone Girl right now after hearing so much about it. I’m only 100 pages in but I am very curious about where it’s all going

Leave a Reply

