The New Year’s Countdown: Best Writing of 2012

5) What Kills Me by Wynne Channing

This is Channing’s debut novel but her time at the National Post has obviously prepared her for this feat. Her writing is so vivid and she knows how to pace a story. I could SEE these foreign places. Well done.

What Kills Me

4) Drowning Instinct by Ilsa J Bick

I thought I’d see Mr. Anderson as the bad guy because of his relationship with Jenna. I thought I’d know who was bad and who was good but all I saw was grey. The writing is captivating and a flurry of emotions washed over me. Seriously, read this.

Drowning Instinct

3) Blood Red Road by Moira Young

I’ve heard people say that they’ve stopped reading this book a few pages in because of the dialect. Well guess what? Those who work hard get rewarded. Simple as that. The last thing you want to be as a reader is to be a passive reader and Young challenges us by switching things up in HOW we read. You will get used to it. You just need to forget the strict rules of language for a bit. It’s kind of like getting a ballerina to dance Hip Hop. They’ll need to forget their lines and get into the loose groove of things. The writing was a character of its own and THAT’S what makes it great.

Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, #1)

2) Everyday by David Levithan

Only this book can be written by David Levithan. That’s what you’ll say to yourself after reading this. Who would ever think of something like this AND write it in a way where you hang on every word. I love the breakdown of a meaning of a word or the comparisons of a word with another to help us better understand it in its truest form. I don’t know what else to say but to go out and read this book.

Every Day

1) Small Damages by Beth Kephart

The best compliment I can give this book is that I’d buy a copy that I could carry around and mark up all of the passages and lines that I loved. This was literary fiction or at least very close to literary fiction. Phenomenal writing here folks and I think my words won’t do it any justice.

Small Damages

A. A. Omer

One thought on “The New Year’s Countdown: Best Writing of 2012

Leave a Reply

