The New Year’s Countdown: Eye Catching Covers of 2012

This was the most difficult category to choose only 5 for. It took 2 days and some emotional breakdowns but here they are.

5) Stupid Perfect World by Scott Westerfeld

I love. Black background + a splat of colors in a form of heart + reversed R in title = stunning. I think of fireworks in the night sky when I see this. Great cover for an e-book J

Stupid Perfect World

4) Drowning Instinct by Ilsa J Bick

I think it’s clever that the face of the girl is what allows the black fade into the blue. Add the dripping of the water from the face as though she’s just dunked it into a sink full of H20…someone clearly got some kind of creative instinct going here.

Drowning Instinct

3) Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

I may not have been a fan of what was inside the book, I can say that I’m a HUGE fan of the outside. It looks like it got the Instagram effect as though it’s been worn by months out in the sun. Even the font was a marvelous choice (see? I’m using words like marvelous!).

Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, #1)

2) Adaptation by Malinda Lo

I don’t like it when covers are given the “editorial” treatment whenever people are featured on them. An example would be the redesigned covers of the Delirium series which looks pretty but it looks like something that you’d find in a magazine and guess what? It’s not memorable. This cover is a different story. The reflection in the water. The green eyes. The shimmering effect of the title. This is a memorable title and it’s beautiful.

Adaptation (Adaptation, #1)

1) Shatter Me/Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi

THESE. COVERS. ARE….GAHHHH. This was a redesign that I approved of. The covers are just so GORGEOUS. I’d want them as posters. Seriously, I’d pay money for it. I even changed my Goodreads edition from the old one to this one. This was an easy choice for number one because they’re memorable and I didn’t hesitate. Okay. Enough gushing. Let’s just stare.

Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

A. A. Omer

Leave a Reply

