The New Year’s Countdown: Villainous Characters of 2012

5) Jeanine Matthews (Divergent & Insurgent by Veronica Roth)

This smart pants gives smart people a bad name…then again, smart villains do make the most efficient villains.

Insurgent (Divergent, #2)

4) The Vours (The Devouring Series by Simon Holt)

The only non-human villains on the list, these other worldly fear feasting fiends not only elicit assonance in my sentence but a shiver down my spine. Let’s just say that it’s a good thing they’re NOT real.

Fearscape (The Devouring, #3)

3) Rory Starling (Starling by Lesley Livingston)

What’s worse than having a smart person and non-human become your enemies? Having your own family turn against you. Rory is a Grade A jack ass but what’s worse is that he’s a Grade A jack ass to his little sister! Not, however, in the normal sibling teasing that we’re used to. Yikes!

Starling (Starling, #1)

2) Philip and Barron Sharpe (White Cat by Holly Black)

I’ve never been so fortunate to have the family that I have after reading about Cassel Sharpe’s family. Rory may have been a jack ass to his sister but Philip and Barron Sharpe are THE WORSE BROTHERS EVER. I’ve never felt so sorry for a character’s family situation and there were times where I wondered why Cassel never bashed their heads in due to temporary insanity. I swear being angry on behalf of others is a lot tiring than being angry on behalf of yourself.

White Cat (Curse Workers, #1)

1) Miz Pinch (Blood Red Road by Moira Young)

I actually tweeted the author as I read the scenes with Miz Pinch and basically wrote that I was so angry that I’d hit whoever was fortunate enough to cross my path. Luckily, it was the evening and everyone was in their room. I’ve never hated a character in my entire life the way I hated Miz Pinch. Never. I wanted to beat her up and I’m not a particularly rowdy individual (never been in a physical fight in my life). She really got my blood pumping…

Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, #1)

Leave a Reply

