The New Year’s Countdown: Hilarious Characters of 2012

5) The Entire Cast of Unspoken (Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan)

I couldn’t choose an individual in this book but so many of the characters had me cracking up at one point or another. This is a really funny book but it’s not surprising given that it’s author is naturally hilarious. A must read, my friends, if you need a good chuckle.

Unspoken (The Lynburn Legacy, #1)

4) Tom (Insignia by S. J. Kincaid)

This is a dystopian novel so you’d think it would be bleak, right? NO! This book was surprisingly hilarious and it was told from the perspective of a really funny character. There could be the possibility that I have strange humor but Tom was just too funny despite the novel’s depressing undertones.

Insignia (Insignia, #1)

3) Beamer (Insignia S. J. Kincaid)

Another character from the Insignia world. There’s a part in the novel where virtual reality games are played and, given Beamer’s excessive laziness, he finds new ways of getting himself killed so he doesn’t have to participate. They’re hilarious which makes Beamer equally hilarious.

Insignia (Insignia, #1)

2) Ally & Sam (Sam Cruz’s Infallible Guide to Getting Girls by Tellulah Darling)

Ally and Sam are a unit at number 2 because their jokes feed off of each other. The comedy is sustained throughout the book and the jokes were really clever. They got me clutching my stomach in agony while reading and if I’m in agony from laughing or burst out laughing in public, THAT’S when you know you’ve succeeded my friends…

Sam Cruz's Infallible Guide to Getting Girls

1) Kenji (Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi)

Speaking of bursting out laughing in public, the hilarious Kenji takes the number 1 spot on the list. I was on the bus when I read this book and had people staring at me BUT I DON’T CARE. In a group featuring a girl who was in solitary for almost a year and a sexy soldier, Kenji stole the show by cracking some jokes. I love you, Kenji.

Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

Check out Villainous Characters of 2012 tomorrow as I countdown to my favourite books of 2012.

A. A. Omer

One thought on “The New Year’s Countdown: Hilarious Characters of 2012

Leave a Reply

