You Read What? Book Review: Cruisin’

Author: Sarah Mlynowski

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • Imprint: HarperTeen Impulse

Date Published: December 4th 2012

Format: E-book

Source: Bought it from HarperTeen Impulse via Amazon

Synopsis:

From the critically acclaimed author of Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) and the Magic in Manhattan series comes a fun short story about taking the plunge on the high seas, where not everything is what it seems.

Kristin is ready to take the next step. . . . The only problem is she hasn’t found the right guy to take it with her. That’s why she agreed to go on the ominously named Cruise to Nowhere with her best friend, Liz. There are plenty of cute guys on the ship to choose from if only Kristin can work up the nerve—and stop worrying about the reports in the tabloids that passengers on cruises have been mysteriously disappearing and that someone suspects it has to do with . . . vampires.

Number of Days It Took to Read: 2 hours

Cover: 

Cruisin'

Not a fan of the cover. Too Blue Crush for my taste (movie reference!). I do like the use of the title which has the bottom of it submerged in the water like a boat. But yeah…not a fan.

The Writing Score: 3 out of 5

Recommendation: Casual Perusal

Memorable or Forgettable: Memorable

Rating: 4 out of 5

Review:

I liked it. It was a fun, short read between books and it surprised me. I would’ve liked it more if the characters weren’t your typical, cookie cutter young adult girls/guys. I also would’ve liked the story to have a bit more depth (I know! I know it’s a short fun read but still…just saying) only because it’s a short story and that means EVERY WORD/SENTENCE COUNTS but these are just little criticisms.

I’d recommend this as fun, laid back read to kill an hour (or couple of minutes if you’re not distracted easily like I am).

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

Leave a Reply

