Event Recap: The Friday Society Gala

Last night I had the privilege of attending the book launch of The Friday Society by Adrienne Kress at the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto. I arrived there at around 7:30 pm straight from work (the goal was 7:00 but I had to learn to use a street car. Yes, I’m a sheltered Torontonian) and immediately bought a copy of the book to have it signed later by the author. I waded through the crowd  in search of my fellow bloggers and bumped into steam punk dressed attendees. I was very jealous of my normal attire and vowed to never be without a steam punk-y piece of clothing/jewelry. While I was envying others, I saw my blogger pals!

IMG_0808

(Steam Punk Weaponry!)

Siobhan from Conversations of a Reading Addict and Wendy were already seated at a table with steam punk confetti (mustaches, clock gear etc). I also met Zahida from Musings of a YA Reader for the first time. We chatted a bit before Tiff from Mostly YA Lit joined our table who was decked out (steam punk style) as an “Edwardian woman in mourning” as well as Chandra from Dreaming in Red, Jen from Lost in a Great Book, Gwen from Rants and Scribbles, Alina from Aj Kit Kat and Rhiannon from The Diary of a Bookworm. I also caught up with the lovely Maureen McGowan (author of Deviants) and Lesley Livingston (author of Starling and the Wondrously Strange series) and took pictures with these lovely ladies later in the evening.

IMG_0811

(Tiff from Mostly YA Lit)

At around 8:00 pm, Lesley got on stage and introduced the author (a dear friend of hers) in her usual humorous fashion. Kress got up and thanked everyone in a teary speech that was both heart felt and hilarious. She then read from her book, premiered the trailer which was amazing and treated us to a demonstration of Bar Jitsu (an “English style martial arts” that featured canes, coats and hats used as weapons in the Victorian era. Hilarious!). Then it was time for the book signing. I got my book signed AND got to take a picture with Adrienne which was great.

IMG_0809(Adrienne Kress and I)

IMG_0828

(Signed copy of The Friday Society!)

IMG_0825

(Steam Punk Chicks featuring me, Maureen McGowan and Tiff)

Lesley

(Steam punk Charlie Angels! Featuring Me, Lesley and Tiff)

IMG_0819

(Maureen and Lesley are steam punk bad asses)

A lot of people started to clear out and most of the bloggers had gone. Tiff, Maureen, Lesley and I were chatting when Lesley told us she got an award (YAY!) and brought out the beauty to be admired by all. We insisted on taking  a photo.

IMG_0827

(Lesley and her copper cylinder!!)

It was a fun (and tiring) night. I was so happy that I went. Can’t wait for more events this new year 🙂

A. A. Omer

5 thoughts on “Event Recap: The Friday Society Gala

Leave a Reply

