You Read What? Book Reviews: Rebel Heart

Author(s): Moira Young

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

  • Imprint: Margaret K. McElderry

Date Published: October 30th 2012

Format: Advance Reader’s Copy (ARC)/Paperback

Source: Got it from my friend, Lynn, who got it from the novel’s Canadian publisher Doubleday Canada (an imprint of Random House Canada).

Synopsis:

It seemed so simple: Defeat the Tonton, rescue her kidnapped brother, Lugh, and then order would be restored to Saba’s world. Simplicity, however, has proved to be elusive. Now, Saba and her family travel west, headed for a better life and a longed-for reunion with Jack. But the fight for Lugh’s freedom has unleashed a new power in the dust lands, and a formidable new enemy is on the rise.

What is the truth about Jack? And how far will Saba go to get what she wants? In this much-anticipated follow-up to the riveting Blood Red Road, a fierce heroine finds herself at the crossroads of danger and destiny, betrayal and passion.

Number of Days It Took to Read: 3

Cover:

Rebel Heart

The final version of the cover is consistent with the paperback version of the first book that I loved so I’m really happy about that. My only issue is that “Dust Lands” is bigger than “Rebel Heart” which didn’t make sense to me. It’s the Dust Land series but the title of this particular book is Rebel Heart. Maybe I’m just being picky but I much rather prefer the latter to the former. It’s a cover that appeals to both guys and gals which is great for a young adult series.

The Writing Score: 4 out of 5

Recommendation: A Must Read

Memorable or Forgettable: Memorable

Rating: 5 out of 5

Review:

This book didn’t disappoint. When the first book is a success, it leaves a lot of pressure for the second and I’m happy that Young delivered. The writing is in the same style as the last and, maybe it’s because I got used to it, I didn’t notice all that much. There’s a lot of metaphor and the description is vivid.

The storyline gripped me. There were things I didn’t see coming and some I did but there were many moments (especially near the end where I cried out “No, No, I can’t read no more…but I must” while my brother looked at me like I was insane) where I just couldn’t continue. I was too afraid of what I’d find out. The pacing was well executed since it built up momentum in the story. Young definitely took this story to places I didn’t think she’d take.

The characters complement one another and prove their worth in the story which I liked. There weren’t any fillers. I really didn’t like Lugh. I get that he went through a lot in the last book (not sure what exactly) but he’s selfish and naive. Saba was truly tested in this story and it felt like this was her at her worse which was being weak. It was painful to watch given the person we know her to be in the last book and it even had us sympathizing with her more (our screaming at her…with love of course).

This book sets readers up for an interesting third installment and I’m eager to find out what Young plans to do in this series dubbed “better than the Hunger Games” by many. I’m sorry for the vagueness of this review but I don’t what to spoil anything!

Update:

Tiff from Mostly YA Lit wanted to know if I thought this was better than the Hunger Games. It is but not by much 🙂

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

One thought on “You Read What? Book Reviews: Rebel Heart

Leave a Reply

