You Read What? Book Review: Unspoken

Author(s): Sarah Rees Brennan

Publisher: Random House

Date Published: September 11th, 2012

Format: Hard cover

Source: Owned! Bought it from Indigo book store

Synopsis:

Kami Glass loves someone she’s never met . . . a boy she’s talked to in her head ever since she was born. She wasn’t silent about her imaginary friend during her childhood, and is thus a bit of an outsider in her sleepy English town of Sorry-in-the-Vale. Still, Kami hasn’t suffered too much from not fitting in. She has a best friend, runs the school newspaper, and is only occasionally caught talking to herself. Her life is in order, just the way she likes it, despite the voice in her head.

But all that changes when the Lynburns return.

The Lynburn family has owned the spectacular and sinister manor that overlooks Sorry-in-the-Vale for centuries. The mysterious twin sisters who abandoned their ancestral home a generation ago are back, along with their teenage sons, Jared and Ash, one of whom is eerily familiar to Kami. Kami is not one to shy away from the unknown—in fact, she’s determined to find answers for all the questions Sorry-in-the-Vale is suddenly posing. Who is responsible for the bloody deeds in the depths of the woods? What is her own mother hiding? And now that her imaginary friend has become a real boy, does she still love him? Does she hate him? Can she trust him?

Number of Days It Took to Read: 1

Cover: 

I’m split on the cover. One the one hand, the art along with “The Lynburn Legacy” gives the impression that this is a children’s book and not Young Adult. On the other hand, the color choices are very smart. A deep red and black seems to be a colors that draw me to books. Why? No clue. They appear secretive, forbidden and although that may sound weird – it’s true for me. Also, remember I mentioned that gold is a color people gravitate to because it’s the color of success? Well, the gold on it accentuated the rest of the cover and overall, something I’d reach for.

The Writing Score: 4 out of 5

Recommendation: A recommended Casual Perusal

Memorable or Forgettable: Memorable

Rating: 4 out of 5

Review:

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The level of humor and witty banter is so wonderfully crafted that I busted a gut while reading it. The writing aside from the humor was good, the characters were lively (reminded me of my family and friends quite a lot) and memorable and the story was a fresh spin on the paranormal stories currently out there. I did feel that the hype that came with the book hurt it more than it helped. I had such high hopes to feel this emotional tornado so many told me about or, as most people put it, “SO MANY FEELINGS” that it didn’t happen in ALL CAPS as expected. Instead, there were many moments of small caps or smile tugging moments as I like to say except the end which did hit me in me BOLD).

I loved Kami’s strength in this book as a female lead and I’d like to see some more detecting from our reporter. I liked that Kami’s mixed heritage was brought up along with the difficulties that came with that. Not too sure about my feelings toward Jared who I loved, then was creeped out by his Edward Cullen like moments but then I was on the fence by the end. I did like the relationship between Kami and Jared, the questions that surround it and the lack of forward movement that most Young Adult feel MUST occur for the story to work. It doesn’t and, because of that, I feel makes a realistic depiction of relationships overall.

This was a solid young adult book and a fun read. I’m interested to see where the next book will take us…

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

3 thoughts on “You Read What? Book Review: Unspoken

Leave a Reply

