Comic Review: Hawkeye #3

Writer: Matt Fraction

Artist: David Aja

Cover: David Aja

Colorist: Matt Hollingsworth

Letterer: Chris Eliopoulos

Publisher: Marvel

Type: Ongoing

Released: October 2012

Writing Score: 5 out of 5

Art Score: 5 out of 5

Cover Score: 5 out of 5

Recommendation: A Must Read.

Rating: 5 arrows our of 5

Review:

There might be a few spoilers in the review so beware. 🙂

I. LOVE. THIS. COMIC.

This issue was flawless. The writing, the pacing and the characters??? Spot on. This is my second ongoing Marvel comic (Captain Marvel is the first) and even though I’m not an expert of the back story or past story arcs of Hawkeye, I can still appreciate genius of this. The dialogue between Kate and Clint was hilarious and I loved the various types of tricks arrows that we got to see (nothing as crazy as a boxing glove arrow but I think that’s more Green Arrows thing over at DC). What I found hilarious was the scene where Clint is fighting while naked and the artist’s positioning of the “Hawkeye Face”, the other guy’s gun and the men themselves to hide his junk was just…awesome (congrats Mr. Aja). The style of art lends itself well to the action sequences and the cover art appears simplistic and parse at first glance but at a closer look says otherwise (both Kate and Clint are inside the hands). Bravo.

This is issue left me wanting to have a boomerang arrow of my own…at the very least.

A. A. Omer

I’ve grown up with the comic book characters we all know and love but I finally got into comics with the launch of DC’s NEW 52 in 2011. These opinions are mine and mine alone…unless, you know, you agree which will then mean it’s OUR opinion but disagreeing is totally fine too.

One thought on “Comic Review: Hawkeye #3

Leave a Reply

