Guest Post: The End of Your Life Book Club Toronto Launch Party Recap

I can’t go to all the events or read every single book. So when my fellow book lover and avid reader, Lynn, agreed to write a few quest posts on the blog, I was excited.  Here she is discussing the recent book event that took place this week.

This past Tuesday I was invited to attend a launch party for the book, The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe. This was the first book launch party that I was invited to, and I hope it won’t be my last. The party was held at Oliver & Bonacini Café Grill, a restaurant downtown. Despite getting lost on our way there, my friend and I still somehow managed to arrive early.

Though the party had not officially started, the restaurant staffs were kind enough to show us to the room and even offer us some wine to get the evening started. Once the people from Random House Canada arrived with Will, the atmosphere of the room became livelier as people got up and started to mingle with one another.

(Pictures taken by Beverly Duong)

Regardless of the formal setting of the event, the actual party was a fairly causal event. There was no official presentation nor was there a specific time set up to get your book signed by Will but instead guests were encouraged to just go right up and talk to him. This was quite easy even for a shy person like me as Will was very approachable and friendly. After talking for a bit we discovered that we both had read and love The Headmaster’s Wager by Vincent Lam, which is a great novel that I would definitely recommend.

Overall it was a wonderful evening, I got to meet up with some of my friends on twitter as well as meet an amazing author.  A special thank you to the following people from at Random House Canada: Lindsey for inviting me to this incredible event, and to both Randy and Sharon for going out of their way to make me feel welcomed. Also a big thank you to Will Schwalbe for writing this book. I cannot wait to start reading, The End of Your Life Book Club, even if it means that I will need to keep a bunch of tissues nearby while reading the book.

– LYNN

Leave a Reply

