Obsessions & Preoccupations #2

I haven’t done a post about my latest obsessions and preoccupations in a while. Lucky for you, this week has been filled with cool and exciting things that I’ve discovered on the inter-web and other fantastical places. Let’s get started!

BAMF Girls Club

This isn’t the first time that I’ve mentioned The Mary Sue (a cool website for geek related news. I frequent the site A LOT) and it won’t be the last either. They posted a video of this Youtube show called BAMF Girls Club by Comediva. It’s about a bunch of fictional female characters that we all know and love (Lisbeth Salander, Buffy Summers, Hermione Granger, Michonne, Katniss Everdeen and Bella Swan) living under one roof…and then comedy ensues. It’s hilarious and a must watch (I especially love their depiction of Bella). Check it out here via their Youtube channel or through the original post by The Mary Sue.

H+ The Digital Series

My friend, Maggie, brought this to my attention a few days ago and I’m really happy that she did. H+ The Digital Series is a Youtube series by acclaimed producer Bryan Singer. The episodes are roughly 4 to 6 mins long give or take and are AMAZING. For a Youtube series, it’s well done and the story line is really good. I’ve gotten as far as episode 3 and I’m hooked. Here’s the Youtube channel and a synopsis:

A groundbreaking new series by acclaimed producer Bryan Singer, H+: The Digital Series takes viewers on a journey into an apocalyptic future where technology has begun to spiral out of control… a future where the world’s population has retired its cell phones and laptops in favor of a stunning new device by Hplus Nano Teoranta, an innovative technology company that has found a way to connect the Internet to the human mind 24 hours a day.

COMICS!!!!

I feel that this should become a regular post now that I’ve started reading my comics digitally. For DC, the comics I’ve been reading are:

1. Gotham Central (An oldie by Greg Rucka. A must read.)

2. New 52

  • Batgirl
  • Batman
  • Batman and Robin
  • Justice League
  • The Phantom Stranger
  • Team 7
  • Wonder Woman
  • Worlds’ Finest
  • Green Lantern (I started reading the series at issue #0 because Geoff Johns created a new Green Lantern who was Arab-American Muslim. It’s nice to see a character like this in the mist of a time where Islamophobia is common these days and writing that is accurate in terms of the Islamic faith. Can’t wait for the next issue…)

3. Smallville: Season 11

I’m not big on Marvel but there are two series that have caught my attention. Funny enough, the two people writing them are married!

1. Captain Marvel by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Dexter Soy

2. Hawk Eye by Matt Fraction, David Aja and Matt Hollingsworth

ALIAS

I decided to watch Alias by J. J. Abrams from the beginning. I was too young to watch the series in it’s entirety but I do remember watching a handful of episodes especially nearing the end. It’s a really good show (my parents always refer to it) and I’m halfway through season 1. Yay!

Hero Burger’s Sweet Potato Fries

I’m a known chocoholic but I think I’m going to have to add sweet potato fries on my list of obsessed-with-foods. BUT! Not just any sweet potato fries…sweet potato fries from Hero Burger. They’re SOOO tasty. Yum.

I can’t remember what else could be placed on this list. These are my obsessions and preoccupations. Make them yours too!

A. A. Omer

Leave a Reply

