2012 Summer Reading List

I’m disappointed that I didn’t read as much as I’d like but this is a great list of books regardless. So here are my 2012 Summer reads.

  1. Delirium by Lauren Oliver
  2. Pandemonium (Book 2) by Lauren Oliver
  3. Divergent by Veronica Roth
  4. Insurgent (Book 2) by Veronica Roth
  5. Matched by Ally Condie
  6. Crossed (Book 2) by Ally Condie
  7. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
  8. The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter
  9. This Dark Endeavor by Kenneth Oppel
  10. Team Human by Sarah Rees Brennan & Justine Larbalestier
  11. 50 Shades of Grey by E. L. James
  12. 5o Shades Darker (Book 2) by E. L. James
  13. 50 Shades Freed (Book 3) by E. L. James
  14. Reckoning by Lili St. Crow
  15. Out of Sight, Out of Time by Ally Carter
  16. Article 5 by Kristen Simmons
  17. What Kills Me by Wynne Channing
  18. City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare
  19. Darkest Mercy by Melissa Marr
  20. Quarantine: The Loners by Lex Thomas
  21. Free Four by Veronica Roth (an alternate POV in DIVERGENT)
  22. Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire
  23. Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry
  24. The Nightmare by Lars Kepler

I said I’d make a list of the best top five (or ten) summer reads (and I will) but I’ll also include other categories as well. Here they are:

  • BEST DEBUT SERIES:

Probably the hardest to choose if placed in chronological order…so I won’t! In no particular order:

  1. What Kills Me by Wynne Channing
  2. Divergent by Veronica Roth
  3. This Dark Endeavor by Kenneth Oppel
  4. Article 5 by Kristen Simmons
  5. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
  • BEST MID-SERIES/SERIES ENDERS:

Books halfway through their series or are the last one in the series. Again, in no particular order:

  1. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
  2. Out of Sight, Out of Time by Lili St. Crow
  3. Darkest Mercy by Melissa Marr
  4. The Nightmare by Lars Kepler

BEST STAND ALONE BOOK:

I just realized that out of the total number of books I read, 98% of them are a part of a series. 

  1. Pushing the Limit by Katie McGarry

What books do you think should have made at least one of the categories from my list? Are there books out there that I should read for my fall list?

A. A. Omer

Leave a Reply

