An Interview with the Author of WHAT KILLS ME

Who’s awesome?

Trust me. I am way more modest than I appear to be on this blog but getting to interview Wynne Channing has boosted my ego slightly.

Headshot

Yes, I interviewed the author of the new YA novel called What Kills Me which I had the pleasure of reading and reviewing. You can check out the review here. For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been seeing interviews with Ms. Channing on-line and thought I should do one too! I wanted mine to be more…out of the box. What box am I talking about? Any old box really. I don’t discriminate. Here’s a brief biography of the author:

Wynne Channing is a national newspaper reporter and young adult novelist. Wynne loves telling stories and as a journalist, she has interviewed everyone from Daniel Radcliffe and Hugh Jackman to the president of the Maldives and Duchess Sarah Ferguson. The closest she has come to interviewing a vampire is sitting down with True Blood‘s Alexander Skarsgard (he didn’t bite). She briefly considered calling her debut novel “Well” so then everyone would say: “Well written by Wynne Channing.”

Anyway, she was sweet and agreed to indulge in my Dr. Phil-esque interview style (minus the crying).

It was nothing like Dr. Phil but it was fun.

I know you’ve just written a vampire book but I want to know what YOU would rather be? A Werewolf, a Vampire or a Fairy?

Easy. Fairy. I wouldn’t have to shave or wax hair off my entire body. And I wouldn’t have to bite people. Because that is just rude.

What’s your favourite interpretation or take on the vampire lore whether through books, movies or television? (Your book doesn’t count.)

Bram Stoker’s Dracula. It was the first vampire story I read. I loved it before Winona Ryder played Mina. Before Hugh Jackman was Van Helsing. Old school!

Your heroine, Zee, dies in a well filled with blood. If you could choose how you would die, in what way would it be?

What?!? I’d rather be an immortal fairy and avoid this question. If I had to? In a blizzard of vanilla cupcakes.

Our writing is an extension of our personality and, like our personality, it can be influenced by outside sources. Who inspired or helped shape your writing? Other authors, family, friends, teachers etc.?

Our writing is always evolving. I had a great writing mentor when I first started working at newspapers. He taught me an appreciation for the “sound” of a sentence and the “right” word (over the fanciest). Today, I find that my writing style alters slightly depending on who I’m reading. (I’ve been reading Dr. Seuss to kids lately, so we’ll see how that affects the sequel to What Kills Me.)

If Zee and Lucas were placed in a Hunger Games type situation, who would you pit them against (as in other literary characters)? More importantly, who would win?

Since Zee fell into that sacred well, she just gets stronger and stronger. It would have to be someone tough, so how about the Hulk and Thor? (Okay, maybe I’m just picking hot men from The Avengers film but so what?)

What was the last book you read that left a lasting impression on you?

I re-read Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast recently. I just love this man’s economy of words.

Sometimes we can tell what kind of person someone is by the music they listen to. What would be on Zee’s or Lucas’ playlist?

Zee’s open-minded so her playlist would have a little of everything. After the blood-filled well though, she’d welcome anything that would give her the energy to run for her life.

Zee is a fellow Canuck from Winnipeg, Canada. Name three things you love about the True North.

The people are freakishly nice. Movie theatres have $2.50 tickets (with 2 for 1 coupons sometimes). The city has a hockey team again.

I love Lucas so much and have a huge crush on him. I want to know which literary character makes you go all gooey inside?

I’m glad you like him. He’s a bit of a butt-head sometimes though, eh? You’d have to tame him. For me, it was always and forever be Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice. (Again, a bit of a butt-head sometimes. What’s with us?)

Taking on a novel is a huge task. What was it like writing this book? Do you have a particular writing process and if yes, is it the same as the process you use for writing articles?

I loved writing this book. I plotted every chapter and then flew through them in less than six months. The process of writing a novel and a news article is the same: sit your butt down and put your fingers on the keyboard. Get it done.

Last question: A lot of people want to know…will there be a sequel to What Kills Me? If yes, could you give one of the characters a chocolate addiction? I think that would add to the character development. I know my own chocolate addiction has strengthened me as a person.

Haha! Yes, I’m writing Book 2 in the series. An addiction to blood is not enough?!? Fine, but it’ll have to be chocolate-covered people!

I would have chosen werewolf (the Kelly Armstrong version and not the Teen Wolf one). Fairies give me the creeps.

There you have it. It was hard hitting, insightful and hilarious. Not that I’m boasting.

Okay, I’m boasting.

Here are some links to get your copy of What Kills Me:

Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | Kobo

Until Next Time,

A. A. Omer

13 thoughts on “An Interview with the Author of WHAT KILLS ME

  1. Woah this weblog is magnificent i love studying your articles. Stay up the great paintings! You already know, many people are searching round for this info, you can help them greatly.

  2. Its like you learn my thoughts! You seem to grasp a lot about this, such as you wrote the guide in it or something. I feel that you can do with a few percent to drive the message house a bit, however other than that, this is magnificent blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  3. Thanks for another informative web site. The place else may I get that kind of info written in such a perfect approach? I’ve a venture that I’m just now running on, and I’ve been on the look out for such information.

  4. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. That is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to learn extra of your helpful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  5. You actually make it appear really easy together with your presentation however I in finding this matter to be actually one thing which I think I’d never understand. It seems too complex and very huge for me. I’m taking a look ahead on your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  6. of course like your website however you have to check the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very bothersome to inform the truth then again I will definitely come again again.

    1. I’ll try to catch as many spelling/grammatical issues as possible. Most of the time, I post in a hurry and I don’t have other people to give it a second look. Sorry about those and thanks for the honesty.

  7. I think that is among the most important info for me. And i am happy reading your article. However want to observation on some normal things, The site style is great, the articles is in point of fact nice : D. Excellent task, cheers

Leave a Reply

