That Ain’t Cool, Dude

I swear I’ve been watching too much Ellen (in reference to post title).

Hey Guys,

Since this is a blog primarily based on books and writing, I thought I should share a blog post by Rachel Vincent (author of the Soul Screamers series and Shifters series) on e-piracy. I’ll also add Ally Carter‘s (author of the Gallagher Girls series and the Heist Society series) blog post which explains e-piracy in case there are people out there that don’t know.

Here’s a snippet of Rachel Vincent’s post. Click here for the rest.

So, what exactly is e-piracy and how do I know if I’ve done it?

Posted on July 4, 2012 by Rachel Vincent

I know most of you will skip this post, and that makes me really sad. To those who will read ahead, THANK YOU SO MUCH for taking the time.

Okay, I’m going to try to keep this short and simple because I’m on deadline and because it’s a holiday here in the US, and I have SO MANY work and real life things to do today. But here goes. PLEASE READ THIS.

Yesterday, I found a “review” on Goodreads that included a link to where people could read Before I Wake for free on a pirate site. I was very upset by this, so I left a polite comment letting the poster know that whether or not she was aware of it, that link she left was to an site offering illegal downloads of books. It was an e-piracy site.

Within an hour, the poster wrote to me and apologized (which was sweet, but unnecessary), explaining that she hadn’t known it was illegal. She immediately removed the link, and later the entire post, I believe. That interaction and the subsequent discussion on my FB page led me to the realization that there actually are people out there downloading illegal electronic copies of books with no idea that what they’re doing is illegal.

For the record, I think that today, in the year 2012, those people are in the VAST minority. I think most people know exactly what they’re doing and why it’s wrong. I think most of them just don’t care. This is for those few who truly don’t understand.

And here is Ally Carter’s post. Click here for the rest of the post.

Pirates – who they really hurt

First off, let me tell you how blown away I’ve been with the widgets I’ve seen and the essays I’ve read. You guys amaze me more all the time.

But I’m afraid today’s post is slightly more serious than that.

Because today’s post is about pirates.

And no, I’m not talking about how yummy Johnny Depp and Orlando Bloom were when they were swashbuckling around the Caribbean. (Because they were incredibly yummy!)

Nope, sadly I’m talking about another kind of pirate–an internet pirate.

Internet piracy is a growing problem for the publishing industry (an industry that is having a really tough time of it anyway these days).

And, sadly, I’m afraid a whole lot of people are probably taking part in it without even fully realizing that it’s wrong. AND ILLEGAL!

You see, whenever a book is online to download and/or read for free, unless it’s on a website run by the publisher or author (or some other official channel) chances are that someone has uploaded it without permission–illegally. And whenever someone reads or downloads that book they are essentially stealing it.

Yep. Stealing. Because the person who put it up there didn’t have the rights to do so. And neither do the people who are downloading it or reading it without permission.

And that hurts a lot of people.

In a nutshell, E-piracy is like regular piracy (ie. bootleg movies etc). It’s stealing and ILLEGAL! *Illegal is so much more fun in caps*

Support the writers out there so they can continue to WRITE.

So…That’s it.

Maybe I should do more “That Ain’t Cool, Dude” posts… *contemplates in a sophisticated manner*

A. A. Omer

4 thoughts on “That Ain’t Cool, Dude

Leave a Reply

