You Read What? Book Reviews: Matched and Crossed

I Crossed My Heart with a Hope to Match

Hey,

I’m not sure if it’s just me or are my intros getting cornier. YES! This is a review of two novels in a trilogy by the lovely Ally Condie: Matched and Crossed. They are from the dystopia genre and are very popular Young Adult books as well.

Here’s a quick synopsis!

Matched

In the Society, Officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.

Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one… until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow — between perfection and passion.

The synopsis for Crossed could spoil Matched for those who haven’t read it so if you have read it (or don’t mind the spoiler), come hither to the other side of the “continue reading” button…

Crossed

Rules Are Different Outside The Society

Chasing down an uncertain future, Cassia makes her way to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky–taken by the Society to his sure death–only to find that he has escaped into the majestic, but treacherous, canyons. On this wild frontier are glimmers of a different life and the enthralling promise of a rebellion. But even as Cassia sacrifices every thing to reunite with Ky, ingenious surprises from Xander may change the game once again.

What did I think of these two wonderful books?

It was alright (she says, ducking her head and waiting for the tomatoes). It was well written and the idea was really interesting but, to be honest (as opposed to being dishonest), I felt nothing by the end of it. Great books leave you feeling an intense emotion whether it’s fear, hope, anger, sadness and etc. When a year passes since you last put that book down and you still remember how you felt when you read it…that separates the okay books from the amazing ones. A recent example for me was the Hunger Games Trilogy. It was one of the best books I’ve ever read thus far because the trilogy literally ended with me having a shit load of conflicting and overpowering emotions. It got to the point where I had to re-read the third book again because I had no clue what the fudge happened (in a good way and not in the way where you have no idea what’s going on in the story. *cough cough* Ultra Violet).

So for me, both Matched and Crossed were forgettable. I felt nothing for the main character, Cassia, at all. I didn’t connect with her or care for her. If Condie kills her off in the third book, I really wouldn’t care. I did feel kind of bad for Ky and found the interactions between Xander and him to be so much more intriguing than anything that has to do with Cassia. In fact, get rid of Cassia altogether and have the two of them as the main focus. This dystopic world doesn’t make me FEEL like it’s a shitty place to live. 1984 wasn’t action packed like Hunger Games but it still made me want to cover up my webcam for the fear of having Big Brother watch me (or the Government…you know…if you believe that stuff *laughs nervously*).

All in all, the books were okay. I’d probably forget them by the end of the summer but okay nonetheless. I give this book 2 1/2 stars out of 5.

But hey, I’m only one person. I know plenty of people who loved this book and my opinion doesn’t make it any less awesome. It just wasn’t awesome for me.

Thanks for reading. Hope to see you checking out the next review.

Keep on reading,

A. A. Omer

P.S.

I think I should start making my ratings more…exotic. Like 4 Kardashians out of 5 or something. Mmmmm…that smells like a great idea *scribbles something on notepad*

My name is Ardo and I’m an amateur writer who loves to read. So much so that I decided to start this book review segment on my blog as a way to discuss the many books I’ve read or am reading. I’d like to start off by saying that the opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

Leave a Reply

