YOU READ WHAT? Book Reviews Post: What Kills Me

Hey! Channing Bit Me…

Hello Fellow Book Lovers and the Occasional Traveler,

Today’s review is about a book by a wonderful new writer and Twitter buddy of mine: Wynne Channing. What Kills Me is Channing’s debut novel about a girl, a well full of blood and a vampire society who wants her dead.

Yup. A well full of blood. Here’s a synopsis:

An ancient prophecy warns of a girl destined to cause the extinction of the vampire race. So when 17-year-old Axelia falls into a sacred well filled with blood and emerges a vampire, the immortal empire believes she is this legendary destroyer. Hunted by soldiers and mercenaries, Axelia and her reluctant ally, the vampire bladesmith Lucas, must battle to survive. How will she convince the empire that she is just an innocent teenager-turned bloodsucker and not a creature of destruction? And if she cannot, can a vampire who is afraid of bugs summon the courage to fight a nation of immortals?

I feel I should preface by saying that there might be some spoilers in this post. Don’t want to have this story spoiled? Don’t venture on. Yes, I said venture… 🙂

This story is about vampires and I’m sure some of you will groan and roll your eyes because we’ve heard the same tale told too many times already. This is different. Not the My-Cousin-Ernie-Wants-Me-To-Be-An-Investor-In-His-New-Pizzeria-Joint-That-He-Says-Will-Bring-In-Big-Bucks-Like-His-Failed-Oyster-Business-Or-His-Failed-Pet-Tanning-Business type of different. I mean a good kind of different.

This story is well written. The fight scenes were so vivid in my mind that I proceeded to act them out in my room (…you know…to make sure they were accurate). The setting was so beautifully described, both Italy and later Taiwan, that these places were literally painted beneath my eye lids as though I was there as well. I’m honestly not surprised at this level of writing given that the author is a newspaper reporter but she’s definitely proven she has what it takes to build a world made of words.

I was hesitant at first when I heard about this book because I’ve grown bored with the vampire genre too. It feels like EVERYONE is doing it and yet I can’t help but have a few of these books find themselves in my library bag. Axelia (or Zee in the novel) is not your ordinary vampire newbie.  Her reactions to this new world that she’s been thrust through are real and at times hilarious. She stumbles and messes up despite how powerful she’s supposed to be and that made me like her more. Who she was before she was turned is someone we can all relate to. Her relationship with Lucas is wonderful to read and it’s also not all about romance. If anything, there are only doses here and there that are given near the end of the book which shows that there’s a foundation built on it first. The plot is fresh and inventive. She becomes a vampire after falling through a well filled with ancient vampire blood versus the traditional bite. The characters are diverse, rich and have great chemistry with one another.

Best of all?

THESE VAMPIRES BURN UP IN THE SUN!

*Coughs* No. I’m not a sadist.

The end is a great twist that I honestly wasn’t expecting but I won’t spoil it on here because…well…I want you to read it.

I think I should stop because now I’m just gushing.

This story gets a well deserved 5 out of 5 stars and you can buy it on Amazon as an ebook.

Thanks for the read folks. Hope to catch you reading my next review.

read books

Keep on reading,

A. A. Omer

The opinions expressed here are mine and readers are welcome to disagree. In fact, I encourage it! I never believed in putting particular books or authors on some sort of universal pedestal but you’re free to put it on your individualized pedestal because I most certainly will.

3 thoughts on “YOU READ WHAT? Book Reviews Post: What Kills Me

Leave a Reply

