Rebel With A Cause

Hey-o,

So I’ve just finished my first chapter of my manuscript. Yay! You’re probably thinking, “Weren’t you supposed to be on your third or fourth chapter?”

Yes, my observant colleague, I was but that was for another manuscript.

“WHAT?” You reply. Well, this is what happened. My previous story idea was marvelous and would be awesome as a novel in the near future…but there were a lot of holes in the plot that needed to be ironed out before I could truly write a decent first draft  and I wasn’t sure the entire summer would be enough time for it. In the meantime, I was hit with this amazing idea that wouldn’t leave me alone until I wrote it down.

I have the basic outline completed in my head and this is the info I can share regarding it:

It’s a semi dystopia/semi sci-fi/semi action-adventure

The lead is a chick (bad ass I might add)

The lead is a Latina

It’s set in Canada

And it’s not your typical YA novel

That’s as specific as it’s going to get. It’s not your cookie cutter YA novel and it’s not supposed to be. Young Adults are a smart crowd and I’m sure they’ll want to read a story such as this.

So I’ve finished the first chapter which is 7 pages and 2,270 words long for now. I’d LIKE  to finish the second chapter tomorrow but I DOUBT that would happen since I have articles to write for my freelance job (not as glamorous as  you’re  expecting but I’m getting paid to write!) and an actual job to go to. I can at least promise to start Chapter 2 though.

So that’s my update.

I really need to post a topic about my writing process and those book reviews…

…Anyways, until next time.

A. A. Omer

Leave a Reply

